The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Brazil men first to qualify for World Grand Champions Cup and World Championships

Brazil hold the World Grand Champions Cup and World Championship crown, beating Cuba on both occasions to the title

Lausanne, Switzerland, August 12, 2013 – Saturday’s impressive win by Brazil in the South American Volleyball Men’s Championship continued their outstanding record in the event and qualified them for two very important FIVB tournaments.

In winning their 29th South American title Brazil, who have won every edition of the tournament apart from one in 1964 when Argentina claimed the honours when Brazil didn’t participate, became the first team to qualify for the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Grand Champions Cup, to be held in Japan from November 19 to 24, following the women who will play from November 12 to 15.

Brazil beat Argentina in the final after both sides became the first teams to qualify for the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 on Friday by reaching the final.

World No. 1 Brazil, who are the defending champions for both the World Grand Champions Cup and the World Championship, have participated in every edition of the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Grand Champions Cup since its inception in 1993, when they finished second to Italy, and are the most successful nation going on to win the quadrennial tournament in 1997, 2005 and 2009 with another silver medal to their name in 2001. Italy and Cuba (2001) are the only other two countries to win the event.

The FIVB Volleyball World Grand Champions Cup features a total of six teams per gender with the hosts Japan being joined by the continental winners from Asia, Europe, NORCECA and South America with an additional country selected by the FIVB. Africa do not have an automatic spot in the tournament after finishing the 2012 Olympic Games as the lowest ranked confederation amongst the five.

The calendar for the continental championships is as follows:
Women's Championship - September 13 – 21, 2013 in Ratchaburi and Nakhonpathom, Thailand
Men’s Championship - September 28 - October 6, 2013 in Dubai, the United Arab Emirates
Women's Championship Final Round - September 6 – 14, 2013 in Germany and Switzerland
Men's Championship Final Round - September 20 – 29, 2013 in Denmark and Poland
Women's Championship - September 14 – 22, 2013 in Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Men's Championship - September 21 – 29, 2013 in Langley, Canada 
South America
Women's Championship September 16 – 22, 2013 in Peru

The qualification process for the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 continues across the four other confederations with continental qualification tournaments. It is a similar process for the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014 with South America again the first confederation to confirm teams at the quadrennial tournament at its continental championship in September.

Europe is the only other confederation to offer tickets (2) to the FIVB Volleyball World Championships via their continental championships.

For more details on the FIVB World Championship qualification tournaments click here


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines