The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Chinese Taipei men’s team in final round of Asian Zone Qualification Tournament

T.Y Chang attacks against double blocking from Hong Kong

Taipei, Chinese Taipei, June 29, 2013 - Chinese Taipei beat Hong Kong in straight sets (25-14, 25-21, 25-18) in the Eastern Zone qualification match on Saturday to book their ticket to the final round of the 2014 FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship  Asian Zone Qualification Tournament.

Chinese Taipei and Hong Kong were the only two teams contesting the AVC Eastern Zone Men’s Qualification Tournament with the winning team, Chinese Taipei, making it to the 16-team final round.

In today’s match, Chinese Taipei showed a higher level of performance in the qualification match against Hong Kong held in Taipei on June 29.

In general, the host team attackers were faster and more powerful in their strategic offensive plays against Hong Kong and dominant attackers C.F Huang and M.C. Wang performed effective back-row attacks.

The Hong Kong team fought back valiantly all through the match with attacker C. W. Chan leading his team’s offensive plays with his impressive attacks.  However, this was not enough to compete with the speed and power of the Chinese Taipei team, which won 3-0 over Hong Kong.

The AVC 16-team final round will be held this September.

Australia, Iran, China and Japan will jointly host the final round to form Pool A, B, C and D respectively, with three qualified teams joining each pool. Only the eventual winners from each pool, totaling four from Asia, will be eligible for the next year’s 24-team FIVB World Championship in Poland.

So far, ten teams have already qualified for Asia’s final round. Australia, Iran, China, Japan and South Korea have all automatically qualified as Asia’s top five in the FIVB world ranking. Also advancing to the final round are Kazakhstan, New Zealand, Thailand, Indonesia and Chinese Taipei.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines