The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Host teams in final round of Asian qualifiers for 2014 World Champs

Vietnam eventually beat Indonesia in a four set match at the women’s Asian Qualification Tournaments to advance to the Final Round of qualification for the 2014 World Championships in Italy

Lausanne, Switzerland, June 17, 2013 – Kazakhstan and Vietnam have each secured their ticket to the final round of the men’s and women’s Asian Qualification Tournaments for the 2014 World Championships.

The Kazakhstan men’s national team beat Afghanistan 3-0 (25-21, 25-21, 25-11) on home ground on the last day of the Asian Central Zonal Men's Qualification Tournament held in the Pavlodar Sport Complex.  The Kazakhstan team had an unbeaten record in the tournament.

In the women’s competition Vietnam pulled off a dramatic 3-1 (29-27, 20-25, 25-15, 25-20) victory over closest rivals Indonesia to take the top spot in the competition held at the Huonghoa Gym in Quangtri, Vietnam from June 14 to 16

The Asian final qualifying round for the Men’s 2014 World Championship will be held from September 3 to 12, 2013 with 16 teams divided into four pools. Only the countries that place first in each pool will qualify for the 2014 World Championship that will be held in Poland. At present, Iran, China, Japan, Korea, Australia and New Zealand have qualified for the final round.

The qualification round for the Women’s 2014 FIVB World Championship are due to take place in September in two host countries. The ten participating teams will be split into two groups of five, Pool A in Japan and Pool B in China. The top two teams from each pool will advance to the next year's World Championship Finals which will be hosted by Italy.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines