The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Kazakhstan in final round of Asian Qualification for 2014 World Champs

Kazakhstan fought back strongly against Afghanistan to take the match in three sets.

Pavlodar, Kazakhstan, June 17, 2013 – The Kazakhstan men’s volleyball team have received their   pass to the final round of Asian Qualification Tournament for 2014 World Championship after beating the Afghanistan team (25-21, 25-21, 25-11) on the last day of the Asian Central Zonal Men's Qualification Tournament held in the Pavlodar Sport Complex.  The Kazakhstan team has an unbeaten record in the tournament.

The Afghanistan team was determined to win the match and led all the way to the first technical time-out at 8-7. However, the situation changed for the Kazakhstan team after they replaced their setter. By the second technical time-out, Kazakhstan led 16-13 and the first set finished at 25-21 with an ace by Yudin.

The second set seemed a repeat of the first with Afghanistan leading 8-6 until the first technical time-out. But the Kazakhstan team gradually equalised the score and surpassed their opponent by the second technical time-out at 16-14. The Afghanistan team tried their best to get back and showed great promised but Kazakhstan maintained its comparatively small advantage till the end of the set at 25-21. Kazakhstan’s strong performance continued and they finished the third set with a 25-11 win.

On the previous match day, the Uzbekistan team won against Afghanistan with a score of 25-17, 25-19, 25-22.

There are eight teams in the central zone, including Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Afghanistan, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Maldives and Iran. Aside from Iran, who direct qualifies for the 2014 World Championship on account of its ratings, the teams are divided into two pools. Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Afghanistan are in Pool 1, while India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Maldives are in Pool 2. These teams will play in Sri Lanka from July 3 to 5 for the remaining two passes to the final Qualification Tournament.

The Asian final qualifying round for the 2014 World Championship will be held from September 3 to 12, 2013 with 16 teams divided into four pools. Only the countries that place first in each pool will qualify for the 2014 World Championship. At present, Iran, China, Japan, Korea, Australia and New Zealand have qualified to the final round on account of their ratings. Three qualifiers will come from the Central Zone, one from the Eastern Zone, two from South-eastern Zone and four from the West Zone.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines