The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Women’s Pan Am Cup visits South America for the first time

USA are the defending champions of the Women's Pan American Cup

Lima, Peru, June 6, 2013 – The Women’s Pan American Cup will be contested on South American soil for the first time as the intercontinental event visits three cities of Peru from June 10 to 16 with the participation of teams from 12 countries.

The tournament offers six tickets –four to NORCECA and two to South America- to next year’s FIVB World Grand Prix, the premier annual women’s event.

Argentina, Brazil, Colombia and hosts Peru are the representatives of South America while Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Trinidad & Tobago and United States are the participants from NORCECA Confederation.

For the first time, teams will be divided in three pools of four teams programmed to compete first in Callao, Huacho and Iquitos for the preliminary phase. The event then continues in Callao and Lima at Miguel Grau and Eduardo Dibos Coliseums respectively.

Pool A in Callao consists of Argentina, Puerto Rico, Trinidad & Tobago and United States while Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba and Peru will be playing in Pool B in Iquitos. The teams of Brazil, Colombia, Dominican Republic and Mexico will contest in Huacho.

The two pool winners with best point-ratio will receive byes to the semifinals and the pool winner with lowest point-ratio will play in the quarterfinals with the three second place teams.

Cuba, with four gold medals, leads the all-time standings followed by Brazil with three and Dominican Republic and United States each with two titles.

United States is the defending champions after winning the eleventh edition in Ciudad Juarez by defeating Brazil in a memorable come-from-behind victory in five sets 28-30, 18-25, 25-22, 25-21, 15-11 victory. The bronze medal went to Cuba following a five-set win 25-21, 28-26, 23-25, 18-25, 15-11 over Dominican Republic.

The members of the Control Committee, led by the Pan American Volleyball Union President, Cristobal Marte Hoffiz, are scheduled to arrive in Lima on Friday with the teams arriving on Saturday.

The schedule of the preliminary phase of the competition is as follows:

Pool A
June 10
18:00 Argentina v Puerto Rico
20:00 United States v Trinidad & Tobago
June 11
18:00 Argentina v Trinidad & Tobago
20:00 United States v Puerto Rico
June 12
18:00 Puerto Rico v Trinidad & Tobago
20:00 United States v Argentina

Pool B
June 10
18:00 Cuba v Canada
20:00 Perú v Costa Rica
June 11
18:00 Cuba v Costa Rica
20:00 Perú v Canada
June 12                                                                                       
18:00 Canada v Costa Rica
20:00 Peru v Cuba

Pool C
June 10
18:00 Colombia v México
20:00 Brazil v Dominican Republic
June 11                                                                                       
18:00 Dominican Republic v Colombia
20:00 Brazil v México
June 12
18:00 Dominican Repulic v México
20:00 Brazil v Colombia

All-Time results:

Year Gold Silver Bronze


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines