The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

African qualifications format for FIVB World Championships confirmed

Cameroon, with the likes of players like Adeke Kari, is a favourite to win the World Championship ticket in the men's competition
Cairo, Egypt, May 29, 2013 - The African Volleyball Confederation (CAVB) has confirmed the new format for the 2014 World Championship Qualifications, a three-stage qualification process scheduled to start in June 2013. There are three vacancies available for the FIVB Men's World Championship in Poland and two vacancies for the FIVB Women's World Championship in Italy.

In the first phase – the sub-zonal tournaments – will see the participation of 43 men and 39 women, divided into 12 subgroups based on their zonal geographical distribution. The countries in zones 1 and 7 countries will be grouped into one pool (as each has only 4 countries), while zones 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 will be divided into two sub groups.

The top three teams from each sub-zonal pool will qualify for the second phase, which is the zonal phase comprising 36 countries in both genders.

In the zonal phase the 36 teams will be re-divided into 7 pools where the winner of the pools with the countries from zones 1 and 7, in addition to the top two teams from the pools with the countries from zones 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6, will advance to the final phase for a total of 12 qualifiers.

In the final phase of the men qualifications, the top three ranked teams in the last FIVB ranking will join the 12 qualifiers to make a total of 15 teams. They will be divided into three final pools where the champions of each pool will secure the three tickets to the World Championships.

In the final phase of the women’s qualifications the same number of zonal qualifiers (12 teams) will be joined by the top two countries in the FIVB Ranking to make a total of 14 teams. They will be divided into two pools each of seven teams where the winner from each pool will make their journey to the World Championship.
The sub-zonal phase will be held in June and July 2013 while the zonal phase will be organised in October and November 2013. The final stage of the process will take place in January and February 2014.
Sub- zonal Pools Distribution

Zone 1

(Pool A)

Algeria / Tunisia / Libya / Morocco

Zone 2

(Pool B)

Senegal / Gambia / Mauritania / Cap Verde


(Pool C)

Guinea Bissau / Guinea Conakry / Sierra Leone / Mali

Zone 3

(Pool D)

Cote d'Ivoire / Burkina Faso / Ghana / Liberia


(Pool E)

Togo / Nigeria / Niger / Benin

Zone 4

(Pool F)

Chad / Central African Republic / Cameroon / Sao Tome


(Pool G)

RD Congo / Congo Brazzaville / Gabon / Equatorial Guinea

Zone 5

(Pool H)

Kenya / Rwanda / Burundi / Uganda / Tanzania


(Pool I)

Egypt / Sudan / Ethiopia / Djibouti / Somalia / Eretria

Zone 6

(Pool J)

Lesotho / South Africa / Botswana /  Mozambique /  Swaziland


(Pool K)

Namibia / Malawi / Angola / Zambia / Zimbabwe

Zone 7

(Pool L)

Mauritius / Madagascar / Seychelles / Comoros 



 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines