The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Women's U20 World Champs qualification process complete

Puerto Rico's players went into a wild celebration following the victory over Cuba that earned them a ticket to FIVB Women's U20 World Championship in Brno, the Czech Republic

Lausanne, Switzerland, May 13, 2013 – The line-up for the FIVB Women’s U20 World Championship – to be held in Brno, Czech Republic from June 21 to 30 – was finalised at the weekend following the completion of the European qualifiers.

Of the six places available to Europe, the Czech Republic qualified automatically for the Championship as hosts of the tournament. Turkey claimed the second CEV spot having won the Women’s Junior European Championship that took place on home soil from August 18 to 26, 2012. Serbia, Russia, Bulgaria and Italy secured the remaining four vacancies at the CEV qualifiers held from May 7 to 12, 2013.

Algeria, Egypt and Nigeria took the three vacancies available to the African countries at the 14th African Nations Championship, which took place from March 11 to 20, 2013 in Abuja Nigeria.

At the Asian Women’s Junior Volleyball Championship, which took place from October 1 to 9, 2012 in Nakhon Pathom, Thailand, the four AVC vacancies were taken by China, Chinese Taipei, Japan and Thailand.

The Dominican Republic, Mexico and the United States secured the three of the four NORCECA vacancies at the Women’s U20 Championship held in Managua, Nicaragua from August 9 to 27, 2012. Puerto Rico earned the last spot after winning the U20 Pan American Cup which took place in Cuba from March 16 to 24, 2013.

Brazil, Peru and Colombia will be the three South American countries representing the CSV at the Championship and their places were determined by the Women’s Junior South American Championship, which took place in Lima, Peru from October 17 to 23, 2012.

The women’s Under 20 World Championships are held every two years and the 2011 edition took place in the cities of Lima and Trujillo in Peru. Italy are the defending champions, having won the title with a victory over Brazil in what was their first gold medal in the history of the tournament

This year’s competition features a revised format having been expanded from 16 to 20 teams comprising the hosts and 19 qualifiers. The tournament provides a platform for the next generation of stars to showcase their skills on the international stage and potentially take the big step into the senior ranks.  

Click here for more information on the Women’s U20 World Championship



 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines