The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

UPCN seal FIVB Men's Club World Championship spot

The tournament was held over six days at the Arena Vio in Belo Horizonte

Belo Horizonte, Brazil, May 12, 2012 – Argentina’s UPCN Volleyball Club has won the 2013 South American Club Championship title and a place in the FIVB Club World Championships after beating Brazil’s Vivo/Minas.   The Argentine club won in straight sets (30-28, 25-17, 30-28) in a match lasting 1 hour and 38 min.

UPCN’s opposite José Junior and centre Evandro (MVP of the 2012 edition of the competition) stood out in the finals for their excellent play. The top scorer of the match was Argentinean player Bogdan Olteanu, with 20 points followed by Lucarelli from Vivo/Minas with 14.
UPCN player Evandro expressed his happiness at winning the title saying, “It was great to take the title having faced strong teams like the Vivo/Minas and the RJX. We played with heart and soul. We just played three hard games in the league and now after a week of rest we are celebrating this title that for which we had only four days to train. We didn’t start well in the competition, but the end result is what is most important.”

2013 Super League champion, RJX club from Brazil, took third place after defeating  Buenos Aires Unidos in consecutive sets in a match lasting 1 hour and 10 minutes with a score of 25-19, 25-20, 25-18.  Argentinean Luis Gorosito was the highest scorer of the match with 17 points while RJX’s Theo followed with 11.

Final Standings
1. UPCN (Argentina)
2. Vivo / Minas (Brazil)
3. RJX (Brazil)
4. Club Bueno Aires Unidos (Argentina)
5. Club Vikingos de Miranda (Venezuela)
6. Club Peerless (Peru)
7. Club Carmelo Rowing  (Uruguay)

Best players

Best defense: Nicolas Uriarte (Buenos Aires Unidos)
Best Receiver: Rodrigo Quiroga (Vivo/ Minas)
Best Libero: Sebastian Garrocq (UPCN)
Best Owner: Demian Gonzalez (UPCN)
Best Take: Lucarelli (Minas)
Best Block: José Junior (UPCN)
Best Attack: Lucas Saatkamp (RJX)
Best Athlete: Demian Gonzalez (UPCN)


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines