The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

FIVB Volleyball Girls' U18 World Championship teams confirmed

Poland claimed their second gold medal in the history of the CEV Girls’ Youth Volleyball European Championship by overpowering Italy

Lausanne, Switzerland, May 2, 2013 – The lineup for this summer’s FIVB Volleyball Girls’ U18 World Championship is now complete, following Puerto Rico’s qualification on May 1.

Puerto Rico’s win over Guatemala at the U18 Girls' Pan-American Cup on Wednesday secured their position as the fourth representative from NORCECA.

The United States, Mexico and the Dominican Republic – the top three teams at the NORCECA Youth Championship – have already qualified for the World Championship, which will be held in Thailand from July 26 to August 4.

“Qualifying for the World Championship is a joy I can’t explain,” said Wilmarie Rivera of Puerto Rico. “We reached our goal!”

Hosts Thailand qualify automatically for the tournament and will be joined by fellow-Asian teams Japan, China and Chinese Taipei – the top three finishers at the 2012 Asian Youth Championship.

South America will be represented by Peru, Brazil and Argentina, the top three teams at the South American Youth Championship.

Egypt, Tunisia and Algeria qualified from Africa at the African Youth Championship in March.

The six European qualifiers were determined at the European Youth Championship last month, with Poland, Italy, Turkey, Serbia, Greece and Slovenia earning tickets to Nakhon Ratchasima.

This year’s tournament will be the 13th Girls’ U18 World Championship, which is held every two years. The 2011 edition was hosted by Turkey, who took the title for the first time, ahead of China and Serbia.

Brazil and China have each won the tournament three times, while Japan and Russia have won twice, and Turkey and Korea have won once.

NORCECA and Africa are the two Confederations that have yet to win a medal at the Championship.

Brazil is the only South American team to have reached the podium, clinching eight medals overall, which is more than any other team.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines