The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Confederations firm up qualifying process for FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014

Brazil will be looking for a fourth title at the World Championship in Poland next year

Lausanne, Switzerland, April 23, 2013 – The road to the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 has been announced with all five continental confederations confirming their qualifying process on Tuesday.

A total of 154 countries have registered (up from 113 in 2010) in the qualification process for Poland, for which the event and host city logos will be presented in a special unveiling in Warsaw on Wednesday (18:00 local time).

The qualification process will see countries compete within their own confederation to determine the 23 participants who will join hosts Poland next year.

The number of vacancies for the FIVB Volleyball World Championships is the following:




Participating teams



Organising Countries:



Distribution of Vacancies








Poland (host) + 8

Italy (host) + 9

South America







Of the nine vacancies available to the CEV, only the hosts Poland will have the luxury of a free ticket.  The best two non-qualified teams from the 2013 CEV European Championship will gain direct access to the tournament. But the other teams in Europe will have to go through a rigorous elimination procedure to secure one of the six remaining spots in the finals.

The continent’s 12 top-ranked teams will be granted byes into the third round of qualifying.

The first round will see 28 teams divided into seven pools with the winners advancing directly to the third round and the runners-up moving on to the single round-robin second stage (October 2-6).

The third round will be held from January 3 to 5 and will feature 20 teams in five groups of four. The group winners and the best second-ranked team will earn spots in the World Championship.

The first-round pools are as follows:

Pool A: Netherlands, Croatia (hosts), Bosnia & Herzegovina, Azerbaijan
Pool B: Slovenia (hosts), Israel, Hungary, Moldova
Pool C: Estonia (hosts), Latvia, Belarus, Denmark
Pool D: Belgium (hosts), Austria, Romania, Northern Ireland
Pool E: Greece, Sweden (hosts), Norway, Iceland
Pool F: Ukraine, Montenegro, F.Y.R. of Macedonia (hosts), Albania
Pool G: Luxembourg, Cyprus (hosts), Scotland, San Marino


The qualifying tournament for the four vacancies available to the AVC will be held in three stages:

Stage 1: A Sub-Zonal Qualifying Tournament will be held in the AVC Western Zone only, with the 10 teams being divided into three pools. The top two teams in each pool will qualify for the Zonal Qualifying Tournament.

Stage 2: The Zonal Qualifying Tournament will be played in six pools. The Central and Western Zones will each have two pools while the Eastern and Southeastern Zones will have one each. Ten teams will qualify for the final qualification tournament.

Stage 3: The 10 winners from the Zonal Tournament will join teams from Iran, Japan, China, Korea, Australia and New Zealand in four pools, with the top-placed team in each pool qualifying for the World Championship in Poland.


The NORCECA 2014 World Championship qualifiers will determine the six vacancies available to the confederation.

The top sides from the six pools in the second round will earn tickets to the final round, which will feature four pools. The top six teams in the NORCECA rankings will qualify directly for the third round.

The four pool winners will qualify for the World Championship, along with the winner of a playoff pool featuring the four second-placed sides.

South America

The winners and runners-up at the South American Championship will get direct berths into the World Championship, while the next four best teams will play off for the one remaining South American berth.

The countries registered for the qualifiers are: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.


An impressive 43 teams will be attempting to secure one of the three World Championship spots available for the African Confederation.

Africa will have a three-round qualification system, starting with two rounds of zonal qualifiers to be played from May to November followed by a 15-team final round in January 2014.

In the final round of three pools, Africa’s top three teams will be joined by 12 qualifiers and the winners of each pool will earn a berth in the World Championship.

Of the five confederations, NORCECA has already started its qualification process with eight men’s and eight women's first round tournaments held in 2012 with the top three teams from each advancing to the second round. The process will continue through to the third round where the five NORCECA representatives will be determined.

The FIVB Men’s Volleyball World Championship takes place every four years and the 2010 edition was hosted by Italy where Brazil secured their third straight title.

The winner of next year’s World Championship will qualify for the FIVB Volleyball World Cup in 2015, which is the first Olympic qualification event for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines