The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

FIVB Volleyball Women's World Champs unveiled in Milan

The FIVB Volleyball Women's World Championship Italy 2014 will feature 103 matches across six cities
Milan, Italy, April 23, 2013 - The organising committee of the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014 unveiled the official logo, the competition formula and the dates and cities for the quadrennial event on Tuesday in Milan.

The FIVB’s premier event for women’s volleyball will see a total of 24 teams divided into four pools of six teams for the first round, which starts on September 23 with hosts Italy placed in Pool A followed by the 11 best world-ranked teams placed in the first, second and third rows starting from Pool B using the serpentine system. The 12 remaining teams will be divided into three groups on the basis of the FIVB world ranking and placed in the fourth, fifth and sixth rows according to a drawing of lots.

The first round of the competition will be a round robin system over five days – three matches per day - with four cities (Rome, Trieste, Bari and Verona) hosting a pool each.

The top four teams of each pool will advance to the second round (in Bari, Trieste, Verona and Modena), where the 16 teams will be split into two pools of eight (top two of Pool A and B, third and fourth of Pool C and Pool D), with the top three of each pool advancing to the third round.

The top three teams from the two second-round pools will advance to the third round with the winners, placed in each pool, while the second and third will be drawn.

The third and final round will consist of a round robin system with the top two teams of each pool advancing to the semifinals before the final takes place in Milan on October 12.

“On behalf of FIVB President Dr. Ary Graça, who passes on his best wishes, on the occasion of the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014, we are FIPAV will organise a world class event,” FIVB 2nd Executive Vice-President and CEV President André Meyer said. “The year 2014 is a very important one as it is the seventh time the FIVB has two World Championships in Europe in the same year and the first since 1986. “The organisation is the same as the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship 2010, it has a lot of experience so we are expecting a great event.

“This is very emotional for me,” FIPAV President Carlo Magri informed the press conference. “It wasn’t that long ago we were hosting another World Championship in 2010. For the 2014 event we are determined to host another exceptional event. We have that strong goal especially considering it is a very difficult period for our country. We have to have the courage to do a superb event. Thank you to the FIVB and to President Graça and Mr Meyer for the support and the honour to host another FIVB World Championships.

"With 24 teams, we have a lot to organise for what will be a great sporting event, a unique, important event for our country," Organising Committee chairman Carlo Salvatori said. "We are looking to repeat 2010 and go one better. It is another opportunity to show how Italy can host a world class event in this difficult time around the world."

The FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship 2014 represents the first time Italy has hosted the women’s edition of the World Championships having already hosted the men in 2010 and 1978.

View the unveiling of the official logo on the FIVB's YouTube channel.



 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines