The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Argentine women begin training for FIVB World Grand Prix

After their participation in the World Grand Prix the team will participate in the Pan-American Cup - a qualifying event for the World Championship in 2014

Buenos Aires, Argentina, April 15, 2013 - The Argentine national seniors' womens’ team have begun preparations for a very demanding 2013 season with coach Guillermo Orduna, which includes the FIVB World Grand Prix.

An intensive training session will take place from Monday, April 15 to Friday, April 19 where the team will learn the location of their matches and  the teams they will face at this important competition.

While some of the players will leave to begin playing for their Leagues, 15 players will continue  working in Argentina. 

The following are the participating players:

Setters: Yael Castiglione, Viviana Dominkó, Estefanía Azcoitía
Middle players: Natalia Aispurúa, Julieta Puntín, Florencia Giorgi
Wing spikers: Daniela Gildenberger, Eugenia Nosach, Mariángeles Cossar, Erika Mercado, Sol Calvete
Opposite players: Tanya Acosta
Liberos: Tatiana Rizzo, Melisa Ramón, Jazmín Molli

Argentina will first play in Montichiari (Italy) in a Pool E match against Germany. They will later play in Hong Kong then in Wuhan, China.

The Preliminary Round of the World Grand Prix will take place from August 2  to 18 over three consecutive weekends.

Following a decision by the World Grand Prix Council in December 2012, the premier annual FIVB women’s volleyball event will expand to 20 teams, four more than in last year’s edition.

The World Grand Prix Finals will return to Japan for the first time since 2009 and take place in Sapporo from August 28 to September 1. Japan has hosted the World Grand Prix Finals four times in the past with Sapporo being a fifth host city after Tokyo in 2009, Yokohama in 2008, Sendai in 2005 and Kobe in 1997.

Following the Preliminary Round, the organisers and the next best five teams will qualify for the Finals. The World Grand Prix featured eight teams in its debut season of 1993 and from 1995 to 2002, while 12 teams were in action in 1994 and from 2003 to 2010. Sixteen teams have been involved in the 2011 and 2012 editions.

Click here for more information on the World Grand Prix


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines