The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Switzerland & Brazil to host FIVB Club World Championships

Zurich will welcome the likes of Vakifbank Istanbul who have qualifed for the Women's Club World Championship for the second time, after finishing second in 2011
Lausanne, Switzerland, April 10, 2013 – The International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) is pleased to announce that Switzerland and Brazil have been confirmed as hosts of the FIVB Women’s and Men’s Club World Championship tournaments for the next three years respectively.

Zurich will become the first Swiss city to host an FIVB volleyball event when they welcome six (one from each continent and the organiser) of the world’s premier clubs from October 9 to 13 later this year while the host city in Brazil for the men’s competition running from October 15 to 20 will be confirmed in a month’s time. The composition of the men’s competition is also still to be confirmed.

It is only the second time after 1992 the FIVB Club World Championships have been held in two different cities.

“I’m very proud to be able to confirm this exciting change to the FIVB volleyball calendar,” FIVB President Dr. Ary S. Graça F° said. “Two strong countries, one with outstanding volleyball pedigree, the other the home of the FIVB, hosting the FIVB Club World Championships it will make for an exciting competition.”

The FIVB Club World Championships will be held in the month of May in 2014 and 2015.

Europe’s Vakifbank Istanbul and Lokomotiv Novosibirsk are the only clubs to have qualified so far for the 2013 edition having won the women’s and men’s CEV Champions League respectively in March. Meanwhile the Africa Women’s Club Championships will be completed on Friday prior to the men’s competition. The other confederations sees Asia hosting two tournaments – one in Dac Lac City, Vietnam for women from April 27 to May 5 and another in Tehran, Iran from April 21 to 29 while NORCECA and South America are still to confirm their selection procedures.  

Doha, Qatar had been the traditional host of the FIVB Club World Championships from 2009 to 2012 with the Men’s Club World Championship having previously run from 1989 to 1992 while the women’s edition went from 1991 to 1994.

Previous Editions

1989 - Parma, Italy (Winners: Maxicono Parma (ITA))
1990 - Milan, Italy (Winners: Mediolanum Milano (ITA))
1991 - Sao Paulo, Brazil (Winners: Il Messaggero Ravenna (ITA))
1992 - Treviso, Italy (Winners: Misura Mediolanum Milano (ITA))
2009 - Doha, Qatar (Winners: Trentino Betclic (ITA))
2010 - Doha, Qatar (Winners: Trentino Betclic (ITA))
2011 - Doha, Qatar (Winners: Trentino Betclic (ITA))
2012 - Doha, Qatar (Winners: Trentino Betclic (ITA))

1991 - Sao Paulo, Brazil (Winners: Sadia Esporte Club Sao Paulo (BRA))
1992 - Jesi, Italy (Winners: Il Messaggero Ravenna (ITA))
1994 - Sao Paulo, Brazil (Winners: Leite Moca Sao Paulo (BRA))
2010 - Doha, Qatar (Winners: Fenerbahce (TUR))
2011 - Doha, Qatar (Winners: Rabita Baku (AZE))
2012 - Doha, Qatar (Winners: Sollys Nestlé (BRA))


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines