The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Beach Volleyball Age Group World Champ cities confirmed


Lausanne, Switzerland, March 14, 2013 – The International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) is pleased to announce the host cities and dates of its Beach Volleyball World Championships for age groups U19, U21 and U23 taking place in 2013.

The 13th edition of the FIVB Beach Volleyball U21 World Championships will take place in Umag, Croatia from June 20 to 23 while the FIVB Beach Volleyball U19 World Championships, in its 12th edition, will be held in Porto, Portugal from July 11 to 14.

As a major enhancement to the FIVB beach volleyball calendar, the FIVB Beach Volleyball U23 World Championships - which will take place in Myslowice, Poland from June 6 to 9 – has been added to provide another opportunity for players to participate in an international tournament with the goal of reducing the gap between age-group and senior level competition.

“We are looking forward to another exciting year of age group beach volleyball, especially with the addition of the under 23 World Championships which will assist in the development of beach volleyball and compliment the growth achieved via the Continental Cup,” FIVB Beach Volleyball Commission President Mr Vicente Araujo said. “Every year, we see the level of competition at these annual World Championships get better and better and we can expect more of the same in 2013.”

Each event will consist of a main draw of 32 teams (eight pools of four teams with the top two teams advancing to the single elimination final phase), comprising six teams per gender per FIVB Confederation (with a maximum of one team per gender per country) and two teams per gender for the host country.

The Confederations will select their best six ranked teams either via the last U19/21/23 Continental Championships or U19/21/23 Continental Tour in 2013 or 2012 or FIVB selection criteria*.

In the event a Confederation is unable to use their quota of six teams per gender, the FIVB will fill the vacancies either via a qualification tournament (one day, single elimination, minimum of eight teams and a maximum of 16) or FIVB selection criteria*.

Poland will be looking to continuing its winning streak in the men’s U19 and U21 Championships. In the 2012 edition, Michel Bryl and Kacper Kujawiak took home the title for the U19 Championship while Piotr Kanto and Bartosz Losiak were crowned U21 champions. Poland also made history last year, having two of its teams go head-to-head for the gold medal in the U19 Championship.

Last year’s women’s U19 Championship in Larnaka saw Lithuanian duo Monika Povilaityte and Leva Dumbauskaite edge out Poland’s defending champions Karolina Baran and Katarzyna Kociolek in the final. In the women’s U21 Championship in Halifax, Canada, Switzerland’s Nina Betschart and Anouk Verge-Depre were crowned world champions. With that win, Betschart joined Brazil’s Carolina Salgado (2004 and 2005) as the only women in the event’s history to win gold in back-to-back years with different partners.

The FIVB Beach Volleyball U19 World Championships were first held in 2002 while the FIVB Beach Volleyball U21 World Championships started in 2001.

FIVB Beach Volleyball Age-Group World Championships for 2013


Host City


U23 World Championships

Myslowice, Poland

June 6-9

U21 World Championships

Umag, Croatia

June 20-23

U19 World Championships

Porto, Portugal

July 11-14

* Please refer to the following link for the Qualification Process:


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page


Latest headlines