The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Emanuel elected president of Brazilian Olympic Athletes' Commission

Emanuel and fellow volleyball player Fabi are part of the Commission until 2016
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, February 26, 2013 – Following his election to the World Anti-Doping Agency’s (WADA) Athlete Commission last year,  Emanuel Rego was elected  president of the Athletes Commission of the Brazilian Olympic Committee (COB). 

Speaking of his new responsibilities Emanuel said, "The Athletes' Commission is a forum where everyone has the opportunity to present their ideas. It is also a space for athletes to have more contact with each other. The major intent of the COB is to bring athletes closer to the decision-making process in sport. As the next Olympic Games will be here [in Rio] local athletes have many responsibilities. We have to know our role and begin to interact to further develop Brazilian sport," said Emanuel.

The new COB Athletes’ Commission, elected for the period 2013-2016, has 19 members including Brazilian women's two-time Olympic champion libero Fabiana de Oliveira (Fabi).

Its main objective is to be a channel of communication between the athletes and the COB, offering suggestions and recommendations on all matters relating to the Olympic Movement.

Below is the list of 19 athletes for the COB Athletes’ Commission for the new Olympic cycle:

President: Emanuel Rego Scheffer (beach volleyball)
Vice-President: Hortencia Marcari (basketball) - Nominated by the Executive Council of the COB
Fabiano Pecanha (athletics)
Fabiana de Oliveira - Fabi (volleyball)
Chana Masson (handball)
Fabiana Murer of Adams (athletics)
Tatiana Lemos (swimming)
Robert Sheidt (sailing)
Fernanda Oliveira (sailing)
Marcelo Machado - Marcelinho (Basketball)
Yane Marques (modern pentathlon)
Nivalter Santos de Jesus (canoeing)
Rafael Silva (judo)
Maria Portela (judo)
Renzo Agresta (fencing)
Isabel Clark (snowboarding) - Remains in Committee until Sochi 2014
Arthur Zanetti (artistic gymnastics) - Nominated by the Executive Council of the COB
Thiago Pereira (swimming) - Nominated by the Executive Council of the COB
Gustavo Borges (swimming) - Nominated by the Executive Council of the COB


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Beach volleyball home page


Latest headlines