The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Women’s Pan Am Cup will be in Peru

A full house watched USA overcoming Brazil in five sets to take the title at last year's Pan American Cup

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, February 12, 2013 – The XII Women’s Volleyball Pan American Cup will take place in the cities of Lima and Iquitos, Peru from June 5-16.

The official announcement was made by NORCECA Sport Events Department on Wednesday and it marks the first time that a South American country will be hosting the intercontinental event, a qualifying competition to the FIVB World Grand Prix of the following year.

Mexico has organized the competition a total of eight times while the event has taken place once in Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and United States.

Defending champions United States, Brazil, Argentina, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica,  Cuba, Dominican Republic Mexico, Puerto Rico, Trinidad & Tobago and hosts Peru are the teams registered  for the twelve-team event.

Cuba, with four titles, tops the list as the most successful country in the annual competition followed by Brazil with three crowns and United States and Dominican Republic each with two. The Dominican Republic leads in total medals with ten.

Last year, in Ciudad Juarez for second year in a row, USA bounced back from a 0-2 deficit to defeat Brazil (28-30, 18-25, 25-22, 25-21, 15-11) for the gold medal. The bronze went to Cuba following a five-set (25-21, 28-26, 23-25, 18-25, 15-12) victory over Dominican Republic.

The historical podiums of the Women’s Pan Am Cup:

Year  Gold  Silver  Bronze
2002  CUB   DOM  CAN
2003  USA   DOM  CUB
2004  CUB   USA   DOM
2005  CUB   DOM  BRA
2006  BRA   CUB   DOM
2007  CUB   BRA   DOM
2008  DOM  BRA   ARG
2009  BRA   DOM  PUR
2010  DOM  PER   USA
2011  BRA   DOM  USA
2012  USA   BRA   CUB


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines