The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Kenya announce squad for upcoming season

Celebrated setter Janet Wanja returns to the Kenyan side again this year
Nairobi, Kenya, July 14, 2011 – The Kenya Volleyball Federation (KVF) named their extended squad for the Africa Women’s Nations Championship on Wednesday.

The squad consists of 19 players in total.

The side will now begin training in Nairobi in preparation for both this tournament, which will also be played in the Kenyan capital during August, as well as the All Africa Games set to take place in Maputo in September. KVF Sec Gen Evans Wasike released the names during Memorial tournament in Kisumu this week.

Notable inclusions are celebrated setter Janet Wanja who plays in Rwanda and Pipeline right attacker Lucy Chege.

The selected players were:
Setters: Jane Wacu (Prisons), Janet Wanja (APR), Rose Magoi (Pipeline).
Liberos: Mildred Odwako (Pipeline), Judy Tarus, Elizabeth Nafula (Prisons).
Left attackers: Mercy Moim, Esther Mwombe, Everline Makuto (Prisons), Ednah Rotich (Ulinzi), Esther Wangeci (Pipeline).
Right attackers: Lydia Maiyo (Prisons), Lucy Chege (Pipeline).
Centres: Bracksides Agala, Diana Khisa (Prisons), Jacky Barasa (Ulinzi), Ruth Chepletich (Pipeline), Roselyne Odhiambo (Pipeline), Joan Chelagat (Prisons).


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines