The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

The X Women’s Pan Am Cup set to start in Ciudad Juarez

Players of Dominican Republic celebrate after winning the Women's Pan American Cup last year in Tijuana, Mexico

Ciudad Juarez, Mexico, June 29, 2011 – The X Women’s Pan American Cup, a twelve-team qualifier to next year’s FIVB World Grand Prix, is set to open on July 1 at two different venues in Ciudad Juarez located in the northern state of Chihuahua, Mexico close to U.S. border.
The top four ranked teams of NORCECA and the top two ranked side from South America, including Brazil, will get tickets to the 2012 World Grand Prix, the premier women’s annual volleyball competition.
Defending champions Dominican Republic, Argentina, Canada, Chile, Cuba and hosts Mexico will compete in Pool A at Colegio de Bachilleres Gymnasium, while Brazil, Costa Rica, Peru, Puerto Rico, Trinidad & Tobago and United States will play in Pool B at Universidad Autónoma de Ciudad Juarez Pavilion.
According to the competition formula, the winners of the two pools will secure berth in the semifinals with the second and third place teams will meet in crossed matches in the quarterfinals. The semifinals and medal matches will be played on July 8-9.
Those teams in the pool’s bottom will meet for 11th place and the sides in fourth and fifth positions with the quarterfinal's losers will play matches in the 5-10 consolation round.
During its ten years of existence, Mexico has hosted the event on seven occasions with the other three editions held in Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and United States.
Cuba is the winningest team in the history of the intercontinental event with a total of four titles while Brazil and Dominican Republic each has two, and United States one. The Dominican Republic has been the all-time more consistent team as the only to finish on the podium in each of the previous nine editions with four silvers and three bronzes added to its two gold medals.

Year by Year Results


2002  CUB  DOM  CAN
2003  USA  DOM  CUB
2004  CUB  USA  DOM
2005  CUB  DOM  BRA
2006  BRA  CUB  DOM
2007  CUB  BRA  DOM
2008  DOM  BRA  ARG
2009  BRA  DOM  PUR
2010  DOM  PER  USA


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines