The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Maldives awards for stars of 2010

Ahmed Abdul Kareem received the award for the Maldives' men's Player of the Year for 2010

Male, Maldives, January 28, 2011 – Ahmed Abdul Kareem and Aishath Shaffa collected the men's and women's Volleyball Player of the Year awards in the Maldives on Friday.

The pair received their awards at a lavish ceremony at the Dharubaaruge Rannabandeyri Maalam congress venue in Male on Friday as Haveeru, the Maldives' largest and most popular daily newspaper, held its 17th sports awards ceremony. For the first time, the second and third-placed players in each category and the best U21 age category players also received prizes.

The Haveeru Volleyball Player of the Year for Men, awarded to the most outstanding Volleyball player of the season, was introduced in 2001. The women's equivalent followed in 2008. The top five players in each category, and the winners, were selected by a special committee made up of administrators, coaches and referees.

Men's category
Winner – Ahmed Abdul Kareem
2nd Place – Ismail Sajid
3rd Place – Ishan Ahmed
Under 21 Best Player – Ismail Sajid

Women's category
Winner – Aishath Shaffa
2nd Place – Suhana Ahmed
3rd Place – Aishath Nazima
U21 Best Player – Aishath Majidha


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo


Latest headlines