The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

USA’s Dalhausser & Rogers Snare Seventh 2010 Gold Medal at Mazury Orlen Grand Slam

Americans Todd Rogers (left) and Phil Dalhausser win the 2010 Mazury Orlen Grand Slam gold medal for their seventh SWATCH FIVB World Tour title this season.

Stare Jablonki, Poland, August 8, 2010 - After winning a “classic” 88-minute semi-final match against legendary Brazilians earlier in the day, reigning Olympic champions Phil Dalhausser and Todd Rogers won their fourth “major” event on the 2010 SWATCH FIVB World Tour calendar here Sunday by capturing the gold medal at the US$600,000 Mazury Orlen Grand Slam by defeating 2009 FIVB world champions Julius Brink and Jonas Reckermann in the finals.

With their first of seven Mazury Orlen Grand Slam wins Thursday clinching the 2010 tour champions, the top-seeded Dalhausser and Rogers ended play Sunday by posting a 21-19 and 21-19 win in 49 minutes over the second-seeded Brink and Reckermann in the eighth meeting between the two teams on the SWATCH FIVB World Tour.

Dalhausser and Rogers have now captured seven SWATCH titles in 2010 to increase their FIVB gold medal count to 15 since starting their full-time partnership in 2006.  Emanuel Rego and Ricardo Santos have captured the most men’s SWATCH FIVB World Tour gold medals with 33.  Dalhausser and Rogers are now listed second in the record book with the Brazilian pairs of Emanuel/Ze Marco de Melo (1995-1997) and Emanuel/Jose Loiola (1998-2000).

With a 7-1 edge in the series with the Germans, who won the first meeting between the two teams in a semi-final match at the 2009 FIVB world championships in Stavanger, Norway, Dalhausser and Rogers shared the $43,500 first-place prize.  Brink and Reckermann split $29,500 for second-place as the Germans had missed the last four SWATCH FIVB World Tour events due to knee injuries for both players.

Sunday’s meeting was the fifth SWATCH FIVB World Tour gold medal meeting between the two countries as Brink and Christoph Dieckmann won the first confrontation at a 2006 international event in Brazil.  The Americans have won the next four with Dalhausser and Rogers defeating Reckermann and Mischa Urbatzka in Norway in 2008 and David Klemperer and Eric Koreng last month in Switzerland.

Sunday’s competition started with the “classic” match as Dalhausser and Rogers rallied from a record 41-39 first set defeat to Marcio Araujo and Ricardo Santos to defeat the fifth-seeded Brazilians 21-19 and 15-12 in the final two sets of the 88-minute semi-final match on the Hotel Anders centre court.

In the second “final four” match to set the medal match schedule, second-seeded Julius Brink and Jonas Reckermann defeated 19th-seeded David Klemperer and Eric Koreng 22-20 and 21-19 in a 51-minute All-German semi-final.  The win earned Brink and Reckermann a second trip to a Hotel Anders finale as the Germans dropped the 2009 Stare Jablonki gold medal match to Benjamin Insfran and Pedro Salgado of Brazil.

With Germany guaranteed a team in a SWATCH FIVB World Tour finale for the fourth-time this season, it was up to the Americans and Brazilians to set the field.  Marcio Araujo and Ricardo’s 41-39 first set win marked the highest scoring first and overall set on the international Beach Volleyball circuit since rally scoring was introduced in 2001.

The highest-scoring set was a 42-40 second set win by Americans Kerri Walsh and Misty May-Treanor over Juliana Felisberta Silva and Larissa France of Brazil in a gold medal match at Acapulco on October 30, 2005.  Juliana and Larissa won the match by capturing the first (28-26) and third (15-13) in the 100-minute Mexican finale.

In the bronze medal match, Marcio Araujo and Ricardo rebounded with a 21-14 and 21-12 win in 36 minutes over Klemperer and Koreng.  The Brazilians shared $23,000 for their second bronze medal together while Klemperer and Koreng split $18,400 in their third “final four” this season with a win last month in Norway.

With the Hotel Anders hosting the men since 2004, the third women’s final in Stare Jablonki was played Saturday where Brazilians Juliana Felisberta Silva and Larissa France captured the $43,500 first-place prize.  The European portion of the SWATCH FIVB World Tour season concludes with stops in Norway (Kristiansand, August 9-15), Finland (Aland, August 16-22) and The Netherlands (The Hague, August 23-29).  The Hague is the final event of 14 stops for men in 2010.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Beach volleyball home page


Latest headlines