The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Sollys Osasco book place at Club World Champs

Brazil's Sollys Osasco will now travel to the FIVB Club World Championships in Doha, Qatar later this year following their win at the Women's Club South American Championship
Lima, Peru, July 18, 2010 – Brazil’s Sollys Osasco became the fourth team to qualify for the 2010 FIVB Women’s Club World Championship on Saturday after being crowned champions of the Women's Club South American Championship in Lima, Peru following a 3-0 (25-14, 25-14, 25-12) win over home side Deportivo Geminis in the final.

The side will now join the likes of Federbrau of Thailand, Bergamo of Italy and Prisons of Kenya at the World Club Championships in Doha, Qatar from December 14-21.

Sollys Osasco, led by Luizomar de Moura, played an aggressive and sophisticated game that could not be controlled by the Peruvians who, despite the passionate support of 3,000 home fans, could not pick up the win. Sollys Osasco’s setter Carolina Albuquerque was inspirational for the eventual winners, providing tournament MVP Adenizia Silva and Best Spiker Natalia Pereira enough options to power through the Deportivo Geminis defense.

Banco de la Nacion of Argentina finished third in the round-robin competition with Chile’s Universidad Catolica coming fourth.

Final Positions:
1. Sollys Osasco - Brazil
2. Deportivo Geminis - Peru
3. Banco de la Nación - Argentina
4. Universidad Católica - Chile

Best players:
1. Best Server: Welissa Gonzaga - Sollys Osasco
2. Best Receiver: Daniela Gildenberger - Banco de la Nación
3. Best Setter: Carolina Albuquerque- Sollys Osasco
4. Best Blocker: Jessenia Uceda - Geminis
5. Best Spiker: Natalia Pereira - Sollys Osasco
6. Best Libero: Camila Brait - Sollys Osasco
7. Best Digger: Thais Barbosa - Sollys Osasco
8. MVP: Adenizia Silva - Sollys Osasco


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines