The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Doha awaits World Club Championship draw

Italy's Trentino will be looking to successfully defend their title in Doha in December after their European triumph earlier this year

Doha, Qatar, October 22, 2010 – The Drawing of Lots for the 2010 FIVB Club World Volleyball Championship, featuring eight of the world's top men's teams and six of the leading women's teams, will take place on Saturday in Doha, Qatar.

FIVB 2nd Executive Vice-President Mr Theofanis Tsiokris will oversee the ceremony and will be joined by dignitaries from the Qatar Volleyball Federation President and the media.

This is the second edition of the men's tournament following its successful revival last year after a 17-year hiatus. The women's tournament is returning this year for the first time since 1994. Men's and women's matches will alternate throughout the competition which runs from December 14-21 in Doha.

Last year's winners and reigning European champions, Trentino of Italy, return along with hosts Al Arabi Doha, Asian champions Payakan from Iran, and European bronze medallists PGE Skra Belchatow of Poland. Also competing are African champions Al Ahly from Egypt, European runners-up Dynamo Moscow from Russia and one club each from South America and NORCECA, both of which are yet to be decided.

South America's representatives will be known after the Continental Club championships, which will take place from October 23-30 in San Carlos de Bolivar, Argentina.

The women’s edition will feature European champions Bergamo of Italy, Asian champions Federbrau from Thailand, South America champions Sollys Osasco from Brazil, African champions Kenya Prisons, European runners-up Fenerbahce of Turkey and NORCECA's appointed team Mirador from the Dominican Republic.

Each tournament with comprise two rounds with 26 matches overall and a total prize pool of US$750,000 for the men and US$550,000 for the women.

In both men's and women's tournaments, teams from each pool will play each other in a round-robin format to determine the overall ranking and classification before the semifinals (1st in Pool A v 2nd in Pool B and 1st in Pool B v 2nd in Pool A) and final (the winners of the two semifinals).


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines