The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Women return as Doha confirmed as FIVB Club World Championships hosts for 2010

FIVB President Mr. Jizhong Wei with QVA President H.E. Dr. Abulla Yousif Al-Mal. FIVB 2nd Executive Vice-President Mr. Theofanis Tsiokris and the Qatar Ambassador to Switzerland H.E. Abdulla Falah Al–Doseri stand far right & left respectively

Lausanne, Switzerland, February 27, 2010 – The International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) and the Qatar Volleyball Federation (QVA) joined together in a signing ceremony at the FIVB headquarters on Saturday to officially confirm Doha, Qatar as the host city for the 2010 FIVB Club World Championships, which will mark the return of the women’s edition for the first time since 1994 and the creation of an historic joint event.

The QVA proved to be outstanding hosts of the 2009 FIVB Men’s Club World Volleyball Championship, which made a return to the international FIVB Volleyball calendar after four editions from 1989-1992. However, the 2010 edition of the FIVB Club World Championships, with the dates due to be confirmed in the following days, signals the return of the double gender event after 18 years and for the first time will feature alternate men’s and women’s matches in the same venue on the same day. The women’s edition makes a welcome return after three editions in 1991, 1992 and 1994.

FIVB President Mr. Jizhong Wei, President of the Sports Events Council and FIVB 2nd Executive Vice-President Mr. Theofanis Tsiokris signed the host agreement with the President of the Qatar Volleyball Association H.E. Dr. Abulla Yousif Al-Mal while FIVB Executive Vice-President and Treasurer Mr. André Meyer, FIVB Board of Administration Member Mr. Essa Hamzah and the Qatar Ambassador to Switzerland H.E. Abdulla Falah Al –Doseri were also present.

“Following last year’s great success, the confirmation of Qatar as the host federation of this prestigious event is a great fillip for the competition,” FIVB President Wei said. “The QVA was thoroughly professional in their organization of the 2009 edition and now, after a hiatus of 18 years, the FIVB and the Qatar Volleyball Association has a great platform to create a legacy for the future. And now with the women joining the men in an historic joint competition, we shall truly know who the kings and queens of club Volleyball are come the end of the tournament.”

“We are honoured to be able to hold this event once more, and thank the FIVB for allowing us to host it for the second year running with the women joining the men this time,” QVA President Al-Mal said after the ceremony. “The Doha community thoroughly enjoyed last year’s spectacle and now we will dedicate ourselves to helping to make sure that this event becomes a staple of both the Volleyball and international sporting calendar.”

The FIVB Men’s Club World Volleyball Championship in November last year saw Trentino BetClic make sure the title stayed in Italy for the fifth time in a row after beating fellow European club SKRA Belchatow from Poland 3-0 (26-24, 25-18, 25-19) in the final. Despite the disappointment, SKRA Belchatow became the first Polish team to stand on the podium at the event, being joined by Zenit Kazan of Russia who finished third after beating Paykan of Iran 3-0 (25-13, 25-18, 25-16) in the bronze medal match.

FIVB Club World Championships History


1989 - First edition - Parma, ITALY

1. Maxicono Parma (ITA)

2. CSKA Moscow (URS)

3. CA Pirelli Sao Paulo (BRA)

4. EC Banespa Sao Paulo (BRA)

5. Nippon Steel (JPN)

6. CS Sfaxien (TUN)


1990 - Second edition - Milan, ITALY

1. Mediolanum Milano (ITA)

2. Banespa Sao Paulo (BRA)

3. Maxicono Parma (ITA)

4. Il Messaggero Ravenna (ITA)

5. CSKA Moscow (URS)

6. Philips Modena (ITA)

7. ASP Mahad (ALG)

8. J.T. Hiroshima (JPN)


1991 - Third edition - Sao Paulo, BRAZIL

1. Il Messaggero Ravenna (ITA)

2. ECBanespa Sao Paulo (BRA)

3. Mediolanum Milano (ITA)

4. AA Frangosul (BRA)

5. Taiwan (TPE)

6. CSKA Moscow (RUS)

7. Club Africane (TUN)

8. Naranjito (PUR)


1992 - Fourth edition - Treviso, ITALY

1. Misura Mediolanum Milano (ITA)

2. Sisley Treviso (ITA)

3. Olympiakos Pireo (GRE)

4. Il Messaggero Ravenna (ITA)

5. Sang Mu (KOR)

5. Banespa Sao Paulo (BRA)

7. Club Africane (TUN)

7. Corozal (PUR)


2009 - Fifth edition - Doha, QATAR

1.Trentino Betclic (ITA)

2. PGE Skra Belchatow (POL)

3. Zenit Kazan (RUS)

4. Payakan (IRI)

5. Al-Arabi (QAT)

Cimed (BRA)
Corozal (PUR)
Zamalek (EGY)


1991 - First Edition - Sao Paulo, BRAZIL

1. Sadia Esporte Club Sao Paulo (BRA)

2. Colgate Sao Caetano (BRA)

3. Mladost Zagreb (YUG)

4. Occhi Verdi Modena (ITA)

5. Hitachi (JPN)

6. Yoghi Ancona (ITA)

7. Chrysler (USA)

8. Posta (KEN)


1992 - Second Edition - Jesi, ITALY

1. Il Messaggero Ravenna (ITA)

2. Acqua di Fiori Minas (BRA)

3. Uralochka Ekaterinenburg (RUS)

4. Brummel Ancona (ITA)

5. Colgate Sao Caetano (BRA)

5. Hitachi (JPN)

7. Chrysler Californians (USA)

7. Posta (KEN)


1994 - Third Edition - Sao Paulo, BRAZIL

1. Leite Moca Sao Paulo (BRAZIL)

2. Parmalat Matera (ITA)

3. BCN Guarujà (BRA)

4. Uralotchka Sverdlovsk (RUS)

5. Camaguey (CUB)

5. Ecoclear Sumirago (ITA)












                                  For more info contact:
                                  FIVB Press Department Director

                                  Richard Baker

                                  Office: +41 21 345 3535
                                  Mobile. +41 79 603 3926
                                  Fax: +41 21 345 3545




 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines