Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Colombia women and Chile men celebrate progress in CSV Continental Cup

Lausanne, Switzerland, February 1, 2019 – Colombia’s women and Chile’s men won the first leg pool of the CSV Continental Cup in Coquimbo, Chile, to maintain their dreams of reaching the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Continental Cup matches are played as a best of five rubbers, with countries represented by two teams. The tournament is made up of three phases. 

In the first phase 12 teams were divided into three groups of four, with the winner of each group advancing directly to the final. The eventual winners in both genders will earn a place at Tokyo 2020. 

In the women’s final Colombia were represented by Diana Rios and Yuli Ayala, and Andrea and Claudia Galindo, and faced Venezuela who featured Rio de Janeiro 2016 Olympian Norisbeth Agudo and Gabriela Brito, and Diana Ramírez and Yonnielis Camacho.

Colombia’s Rios and Ayala needed a gold set to defeat Venezuela’s Agudo and Brito in the deciding rubber and secure a 3-2 victory after the teams were level after the first two rubbers. 

Chilean cousins and FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour regulars Marco and Esteban Grimalt led the way for the host nation, alongside Gaspar Lammel and Ignacio Zavala. 

They faced Uruguay’s Hans Hannibal and Gaston Baldi, and Mauricio Vieyto and Marco Cairus, and topped the tournament with a 3-1 victory. 

Chile’s women and French Guyana’s men will join the finalists in the next round in Paraguay and Argentina in February after they won the bronze medal. 

Four years ago the Grimalt cousins won the men’s tournament, while Olaya Perez Pazo and Norisbeth Gonzalez joined them at the Rio de Janeiro 2016 Olympic Games by winning the women’s tournament. 


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news