Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

CEV announces organisers of European Championships

Organisers of the European Championships scheduled for 2016 and 2017 were announced at the end of the XXXV CEV General Assembly held in Antalya, Turkey
Antalya, Turkey, October 25, 2014 - To round out the programme of the XXXV CEV General the organisers of future European Championships on schedule for 2016 and 2017 were announced to the attendees of the summit held at the Kempinski Hotel – The Dome in Antalya, Turkey. If Poland will host the 2017 edition of the men’s tournament thereby continuing a tradition that has seen this country turn itself into a Volleyball “Mecca”, Azerbaijan and Georgia will add another chapter to the history of European Volleyball by hosting the 2017 women’s European Championship.

The date and venue of next year’s Congress – which will be an elective one – were also confirmed. The XXXVI CEV General Assembly will take place in Sofia, Bulgaria, on October 16-17, 2015.

CEV President André Meyer opened the last session of this year’s Congress by recalling a decision made by the CEV Board of Administration to open in the coming weeks the bidding process for the 2019 and 2021 editions of the European Championships, thereby providing the eventual organisers with more time to prepare for hosting such high-fly events.

2016 CEV U19 Volleyball European Championship – Women

The Championship will be co-hosted by Slovakia and Hungary, with the Pool phase to be played in the cities of Nitra and Györ. The Slovak city of Nitra which boasts a multi-functional sports arena will play host also to all final and classification matches. Nitra is a place which is well-known on the Volleyball map and only a couple of months ago it hosted the Final Round of the 2014 CEV U20 Volleyball European Championship – Men together with the Czech city of Brno. After Serbia won the 2014 edition last August in Tartu, the next European champions of this age group will be crowned at the end of the competition running from August 27 through to September 4, 2016.

2017 CEV U19 Volleyball European Championship – Men

The national federations of Hungary and Slovakia will join forces also to organise the 2017 edition of the CEV U19 Volleyball European Championship – Men. The venues will be Györ and Puchov in Hungary and Slovakia, respectively, with the final stages of the competition to be played in Györ. The city of Györ hosts a multi-functional sports arena with a capacity of 2,000 seats and together with Puchov will provide the ideal stage for tomorrow’s stars of European Volleyball to shine and start their rise to the top. The 2017 European champions of this age group will be crowned on April 30, 2017 in Györ – a city which will host that same year also the European Youth Olympic Festival and is well-known for a very competitive women’s handball team. The Championship will be an opportunity to raise the profile of Volleyball in that neighbourhood.

2017 CEV Volleyball European Championship – Women

Azerbaijan and Georgia will welcome Europe’s flagship event for the first time in history, with the competition stopping in Baku and Guba (Azerbaijan) as well as in Georgia’s capital, Tbilisi. Azerbaijan has become a real Volleyball “Mecca” with teams from Baku having become a force to be reckoned with in all European Cups competitions and the women’s national team having participated in the last editions of the European and World Champs. Volleyball is growing fast also in Georgia, where the Championship will stop only two years after Tbilisi hosts next year’s European Youth Olympic Festival.

2017 CEV Volleyball European Championship – Men

The major Championship for men’s national teams will be held in Poland, a country that has been nicknamed “Volleyland” following the terrific success of the FIVB Men’s Volleyball World Championship Poland 2014. The Polish Volleyball Federation has proposed six cities – Bydgoszcz, Gdansk, Lodz, Katowice, Krakow, and Wroclaw – and four will eventually be chosen to host the Championship. Each one of these cities boasts world-class venues and thousands of fans are expected to flock to the arenas similarly to what happened only a few weeks with the men’s World Championship where the men in red and white jerseys seized the title for the second time in their history. Poland’s last and only gold medal at the Men’s European Championship dates back to the 2009 edition held in Turkey. Polish Volleyball Federation and CEV Vice President Miroslaw Przedpelski revealed plans to host the final match at Warsaw National Stadium which hosted the opening match of this year’s World Champs with a record-breaking crowd of more than 61,000 in attendance.

2016 CEV Beach Volleyball European Championship – Final

As already announced last year, the 2016 edition of the CEV Beach Volleyball European Championship – Final will be held in the Swiss city of Biel/Bienne, only a few weeks before the 2016 Olympics take place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The bilingual city of Biel/Bienne played host to a Masters Tournament already this summer, and another one will follow in 2015 before the real climax is reached with the Championship scheduled for 2016. Though an alpine country, Switzerland has a long tradition in Beach Volleyball and even though some legendary players such as Martin Laciga, Sascha Heyer and Patrick Heuscher retired after the 2012 Olympics in London, the future looks bright with Swiss teams having medalled at many age-group Championships lately. The lakeside venue will be right place for the best players in Europe to shine with a lot of side events on schedule as well.


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news