Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Four islands to host European Continental Cup 2nd Round

One of the 1st Round pools took place in the beautiful setting of Schinias, Greece
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg, August 12, 2014 - The host cities and dates of the 2nd Round events of the 2014-2016 CEV Beach Volleyball Continental Cup have been announced. Four islands in different parts of Europe will set the stage for the match-ups in the four different pools. The 2nd Round of the ground-breaking competition will start in Belgrade at the end of August and will finish in Mellieha, Edinburgh and Odense three weeks later.

Denmark's third largest city Odense, situated on the island of Funen, will provide the venue for the battles in Pool A. The national beach volleyball teams of Croatia, Hungary, Iceland, Luxembourg and Slovenia will take part in the men’s competition, while the host country will join Hungary, Iceland, Luxembourg and Slovenia in the women's competition. The matches are set to take place on September 20 and 21.

On the same dates, the sands of Edinburgh, the capital city of Scotland, will host the women’s teams of England, Ireland, Northern Ireland and the men’s teams of Scotland, Ireland, Northern Ireland, and Slovakia, which will play for qualification to the 3rd Round from Pool B.

The match-ups in Pool C will also take place on September 20 and 21, in the village of Mellieha, in the northwestern part of the island of Malta. The host country will participate in the women’s competition only, alongside Bosnia and Herzegovina, Latvia, Romania and Turkey.  The men’s tournament will feature the teams of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Israel, Moldova, Romania and San Marino.

The only pool which will be played out on different dates is the one in Belgrade. On August 31 and September 1, immediately after the end of Serbia’s national championship finals, the men’s teams of Albania, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria and Lithuania and the women’s teams of Albania, Azerbaijan, Estonia and the host nation Serbia will compete in Pool D
on the Danube river island of Ada Ciganlija.

In each gender, the winners and the runners-up of each pool will join the 16 winners and runners-up from the 1st Round and the 8 pre-qualified national teams in the 3rd Round, which take place in 2015. 32 men’s and 32 women’s squads will participate. Eight of these teams will then qualify for the semifinals in 2016 and 16 will move on to Round 4, which will also be held in 2015 and will determine the other eight semifinalists in each gender. The Final Round will take place in 2016 with eight women’s and eight men’s national teams vying for continental honours. The eventual winners of the CEV Beach Volleyball Continental Cup will earn quotas for the beach volleyball tournament of the 2016 Olympic Games, while another two countries will have a second opportunity to qualify for Rio via the Intercontinental Final Round which will also take place in 2016.


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news