Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

CEV Beach Volleyball Continental Cup draw second round pools

The Drawing of Lots for the second round of the 2014-2016 CEV Beach Volleyball Continental Cup was held on Wednesday at the CEV headquarters in Luxembourg

Luxembourg, July 30, 2014 - The Drawing of Lots for the second round of the 2014-2016 CEV Beach Volleyball Continental Cup was held on Wednesday at the CEV headquarters in Luxembourg.

The competition will involve teams from 25 countries who were split into four double-gender tournaments scheduled from August to September. The second round of the CEV Beach Volleyball Continental Cup will feature teams that were ranked 3rd to 5th following the eight first round tournaments held in June.

The CEV Beach Volleyball Continental Cup second round will be played following the “Country vs Country” format that has received the appreciation and positive review of players, fans and media alike.

Teams were drawn by taking into account their ranking in the first round as well as the geographical distribution already used for the previous stage of the competition. On top of this, National Federations competing in both genders were placed in the same Pool; countries ranked third in the first round and coming from the same pool were automatically placed into different groups.

The winners and runners-up of each second round Pool will join the 1st and 2nd placed of the first round tournaments as well as the top eight National Federations from the CEV Country Ranking as of December 31, 2013. Netherlands, Poland, Italy, Germany, Latvia, Spain, Austria and Russia round-off the participants in the men’s division, while Germany, Netherlands, Austria, Italy, Russia, Switzerland, Czech Republic and Spain are in the women’s division. These teams comprise the 32-team line-up that will contest the third round of the competition coming up next year.

The composition of the second round Pools reads as follows:

Zone A

Pool A in Denmark
Men: Croatia, Slovenia, Hungary, Iceland, Luxembourg
Women: Denmark, Slovenia, Hungary, Iceland, Luxembourg

Pool B in Scotland
Men: Scotland, Ireland, Slovakia, Northern Ireland
Women: Scotland, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland

Zone B

Pool C in Malta
Men: San Marino, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Israel, Romania, Moldova
Women: Romania, Latvia, Turkey, Malta, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Pool D in Serbia
Men: Bulgaria, Lithuania, Albania, Azerbaijan
Women: Serbia, Estonia, Albania, Azerbaijan

The venues and dates of these events are to be determined in cooperation with the organisers and will be announced in due course.

“The Drawing of Lots sets the tone for another series of exciting tournaments that we are all looking forward to,” CEV vice president and European Beach Volleyball Commission president Renato Arena said. “The CEV Beach Volleyball Continental Cup has confirmed its leading role in supporting the promotion and development of this sport across our continent. It spreads around the Olympic spirit and encourages up-and-coming teams to test their skills on the international stage. On top of this, the Country vs Country format adds extra flavour as two duos per country join forces to help their nation make a step forward along the way to the fulfilment of their ultimate dream to make it to the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.”

About the 2014-2016 CEV Beach Volleyball Continental Cup

The winners of the 2014-2016 CEV Beach Volleyball Continental Cup will be determined in 2016 and these countries will qualify one pair for the beach volleyball tournament of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games

A total of 44 National Federations, with 40 represented in both genders, registered to participate in the 2014-2016 CEV Beach Volleyball Continental Cup. This accounts for an impressive 80 per cent of the CEV member countries, with a terrific increase since the inaugural edition completed in 2012 where 31 and 32 National Federations joined the men’s and women’s competition, respectively.

Countries making their debut after missing the inaugural CEV Continental Cup leading up to the London 2012 Olympics Games are Albania, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Ireland, Luxembourg, Moldova and San Marino. After Great Britain participated in the 2010-2012 edition, this time the home countries England, Northern Ireland, and Scotland have registered to join this quest to fulfil every athlete’s dream to participate in the Olympic Games.


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news