Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Italian boys claim historic gold at WEVZA Championship

Italy claim gold at the WEVZA Youth Boys Championship
Valladolid, Spain, July 28, 2014 - The Italian national team won the first edition of the WEVZA Youth Boys Volleyball Championship held in the city of Valladolid, Spain. The seven WEVZA member countries participating in the competition were joined by Sweden.

The Polideportivo Pisuerga Sports hall in Valladolid was the venue for the
WEVZA Youth Boys Volleyball Championship. Italy showed their strength and had a sensational championship, beating finalists Germany 3-0 (25-20, 25-18, 25-14) in a spectacular demonstration of efficiency. 

The Azzurrini were led by an outstanding Gianluca Galassi, who was elected MVP of the tournament. The Italian block put a halt to Germany's hopes of victory. Italy's final victory completed an impressive run of five victories in five matches, in which they dropped just two sets.

“This was a very difficult match for us. Germany are a very good team and we had to work tactically on a high level. My players and all my team had a great match and I am very happy with the victory, but we have to look to the future,” said Italian head coach Mario Barbiero.

Hosts Spain won the bronze medal of the tournament after beating Belgium 3-0 (25-9, 25-22, 25-20) in the match for third place. Following the disappointment of missing the final on home ground, the local squad recovered to present an effective performance in serving and blocking to earn third place on the podium in a convincing straight sets victory.

“I expected a harder match. We played well in serving and blocking and we also had a good performance in reception during the match,” commented Spanish head coach Ricardo Maldonado.

The Italian players also dominated the individual awards by claiming three of the seven categories, including the MVP award, which went to Gianluca Galassi.

Final Ranking

1. Italy
2. Germany
3. Spain
4. Belgium
5. France
6. Portugal
7. Sweden
8. The Netherlands

Individual Awards

Most Valuable Player (MVP):  Gianluca Galassi (Italy)
Best Spiker:  Egor Bogachev (Germany)
Best Blocker:  Víctor Rodríguez (Spain)
Best Receiver:  Simon Peeters (Belgium)
Best Setter:  Ricardo Sbertoli (Italy)
Best Server:  Lorenzo Mariotti (Italy)
Best Libero:  Julian Renger (Germany)

Click here for more information.


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news