Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Bani Yas win UAE Volleyball League title for the first time

Bani Yas celebrate their championship
 Lausanne, Switzerland, May 8, 2014 – A new national champion emerged in UAE men's volleyball when Bani Yas defeated defending champions Al Nasr 3-2.

Bani Yas, who are coached by Serbian Goran Alic, is the eighth club to take the UAE Volleyball League title since its inception in 1974. Previous winners were Al Wasl (12 titles), Al Ain (eight), Al Nasr (seven), Al Ahli (four), Al Jazeera (three), Al Sharjah (one) and Al Shabab (one). 

The competition featured 11 clubs from across the country.

“It was a very intense season, but our team worked really hard to achieve this championship,” said Suhail Alamri, President of the Bani Yas club. “We claimed the title and I feel extremely happy.”

Yousef Al Mulla, President of the UAE Volleyball Association expressed his great joy with the festivities organized on the league’s final day, May 7, adding: “I hope more and more strong teams will appear in the league and new champions emerge each year, which will contribute a lot to UAE Volleyball.”


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news