Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Halkbank wins battle of giants with Fenerbahce in Turkish league’s finals

The players, coaching staff and officials of Halkbank celebrate their title in Turkey men's national league
Ankara, Turkey, April 30, 2014 - The Championship series of the Acibadem Turkish men’s national league came to a close on Tuesday after the fourth round. Halkbank ANKARA – silver medallists in this year’s CEV DenizBank Volleyball Champions League – scored their third win at Burhan Felek Volleyball Hall in Istanbul thereby edging Fenerbahce Grundig – winners of the 2014 CEV Volleyball Challenge Cup – by three victories to one.

Fenerbahce had claimed the first round by 3:1 (32-30, 21-25, 28-26, 25-20) before Halkbank responded by scoring two straight victories (25-21, 25-18, 25-16; 25-19, 25-20, 25-20) to get the right edge in the final stage of the national league. On Tuesday Halkbank cruised to a 3:1 victory (25-11, 29-27, 15-25, 25-20) to round out an already memorable season.

Halkbank imposed their pace right from the early phases of the match leading by 5:2 and 8:4 in the first set; Halkbank performed very strong, especially with their spikers, and easily cashed the opening set by 25-11. Fenerbahce Grundig responded by setting the tempo of the game in the second set (5:2) but Halkbank promptly clawed back with Osmany Juantorena drawing level at 5 all. The teams exchanged the lead back and forth up to 27 all before Halkbank scored two consecutive points for the final 29-27.

Similarly to what had happened in the second set, Fenerbahce Grundig were off to a flying start also in set 3 (8:6) and after an 8-2 break, the hosts were leading 16:8 at the second technical time-out. Halkbank did not find a way to come back and Fenerbahce pocketed the set by 25-15. The fourth set turned into a very close race up to 5 all before Halkbank widened their lead to 8:5. The team from Turkey’s capital city continued to perform strong and cruised to the 25-20 that sealed their 3:1 win as well as their victory in this year’s Acibadem men’s national league.

Mitar Tzourits and Osmany Juantorena scored 26 and 22 points respectively for the winning team while Fenerbahce were paced by Brazilian Luis Felipe Fonteles who recorded 20 in their losing effort.

Individual Awards

MVP: Osmany Juantorena (ITA/Halkbank ANKARA)
Best Spiker: Mitar Tzourits (GRE/Halkbank ANKARA)
Best Libero: Nuri Sahin (TUR/Halkbank ANKARA)
Best Server: Luis Felipe Fonteles (BRA/Fenerbahce Grundig ISTANBUL)
Best Receiver: Leonel Marshall (CUB/Fenerbahce Grundig ISTANBUL)
Best Blocker: Emre Batur (TUR/Halkbank ANKARA)
Best Scorer: Mitar Tzourits (GRE/Halkbank ANKARA)

Last 5 years’ champions

2008/2009: ISTANBUL B.Sehir Belediye
2009/2010: Fenerbahce ISTANBUL
2010/2011: Fenerbahce ISTANBUL
2011/2012: Fenerbahce Grundig ISTANBUL
2012/2013: Arkas IZMIR
2013/2014: Halkbank ANKARA


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news