Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Japan, Thailand win opening matches at Asian Qualification Tournament for World Championships

Japanese try to block an attack by the Chinese Taipei team

Komaki, Japan, September 4, 2013 - Thailand and Japan have won their opening matches in Pool A of the Asian Women’s Final Qualification Tournament for the FIVB World Championships 2014.

Thailand beat Australia 3-0

Thailand opened their bid for a place at the FIVB World Championships 2014 with a 3-0 (25-17, 25-15, 25-17) victory over Australia. Onuma Sittirak led Thailand’s score with 15 points followed by Pleumjit Thinkaow with 10 points. Thailand scored a total of 12 aces in serving.

“For us, it was good for winning today,” said Thailand’s captain Wilavan Apinyapong. “Everybody tried to do their best to show their performance. The Australian team did very well in their technique in attacking and blocking. It was hard for us to get a point. We will try to do our best for the next game (against Chinese Taipei)”.

Japan win against Chinese Taipei 3-0

Hosts Japan crushed Chinese Taipei in straight sets 3-0 (25-19, 25-15, 25-10), clinching their first victory in front of home fans. Riho Otake, a middle blocker, helped Japan with 11 points including four blocks. And Japan’s captain Saori Kimura and Yuki Ishii both scored nine points.

Kimura says “We made many mistakes today. But it was good that all 12 players played on the court. We won’t be able to lose any match during this tournament.”

In the Asian Women’s Final Qualification Tournament, the 10 teams are divided into two pools of five teams. The two best ranked teams in each pool (total four teams) will advance to the 2014 FIVB World Championships 2014, which will be held from September 23 to October 12, 2014 in Italy.

Pool A: Japan (host), Thailand, Chinese Taipei, Vietnam, Australia
Pool B: China (host), Korea, Kazakhstan, New Zealand, India

The Women’s Pool B qualification matches will be held from September 4 to 8 at the Park Arena Komaki in Japan.

Competition Schedule (Time: JST)

September 5, 2013

14:30 - Chinese Taipei vs Australia
19:35 - Japan vs Vietnam

September 6, 2013

16:00 - Thailand vs Chinese Taipei
19:00 - Australia vs Vietnam

September 7, 2013

16:30 - Vietnam vs Thailand
19:20 - Japan vs Australia

September 8, 2013

11:00 - Chinese Taipei vs Vietnam
14:00 - Japan vs Thailand


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news