Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Special tribute to 1968 Mexican Olympic teams at Men’s Pan Am Cup

The teams at the Pan Am Cup with the "class of 68" during the opening ceremony on Monday
Mexico City, Mexico, August 19, 2013 - Twenty-two years after the last international volleyball competition, action returned to Mexico City. The “Juan de la Barrera Olympic Gymnasium” celebrated the opening of the Pan American Cup with a special ceremony.

Members of Men’s and Women’s Mexican Olympic teams were honoured before Mexico’s opening match against Trinidad and Tobago. The tribute ceremony was so special for those who played at the 1968 Games on this same court 45 years ago.

Players like the legendary Blanca Garcia, Patricia Nava, Isabel Nogueira, Maria del Carmen Rodriguez, Rogelia Romo, Gloria Casales and Gloria Inzua, were among members of the team that was coached by Macario Gonzalez.

Some other coaches like Gabriel Cherebetiu were also present, while the members of the Men’s team who played at that time who attended to the ceremony were Eduardo Sixtos and Juan Manuel Duran.

Some other members of the 1968 teams who did not attend were remembered like
Esperanza Alicia Cárdenas and Trinidad Macías, who both have passed away as well as Eduardo Jiménez and José Luis Martell García.

The Men’s Nartional team on 1968 was conformed by Carlos Aguirre Beltrán, Eduardo Sixtos, Juan Manuel Duran Gutiérrez, Cesar Osuna Brambila, José Antonio Barbet Cabrera, Leopoldo Reyna Romo, Francisco González Hernández and Jesús Loya.

On behalf of Mexico City Mayor, Miguel Mancera, the Mexico City Sport Institute Director, Horacio de la Vega was present at the opening ceremony as well as Norceca and FIVB Executive Vice President Saul Castro Verdugo; Norceca Executive Director Nelson Ramírez and Mexican Volleyball Federation President, Jesus Perales.


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news