Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Europe's contingent determined for age-specific championships

Estonia was the major sensation of the week by making it to the FIVB Volleyball Men's U21 World Championship for the second time in history

Luxembourg, Luxembourg, May 12, 2013 – After six days of intense action, Europe has finally determined the teams that will take part in the 2013 FIVB Volleyball Women’s U20 and Men’s U21 World Championships that are scheduled for later this summer in the Czech Republic and Turkey, respectively.

A total of eight qualification tournaments were held this week. The Estonian men’s team were a major sensation making a clean sweep of all of their games in Sofia to make it to the World Championship, for the second time in their history, after 1999.

Estonia edged out the hosts Bulgaria as well as Germany at the Hristo Botev sports hall in Bulgaria’s capital city to finish atop of the charts in Pool C. They joined the winners of the other tournaments – Russia (Pool A), France (Pool B) and Serbia (Pool D) – to fill in, alongside hosts Turkey and 2012 European champions Italy, the six spots assigned to Europe for the Men’s U21 World Championship.

The competition was very exciting up to the very end in Saint-Jean d’Illac and in Ivanjica where France and Serbia used their home advantage to edge out the bronze and silver medalists from last year’s European Championship, Belgium and Spain, in that race to the World Championships.

As for the Women’s U20 World Championship, hosts Czech Republic and Turkey – winner of the 2012 European Championship –  will be joined by Serbia, Italy, Bulgaria and Russia for the competition scheduled for late June in Brno. Italy will hence have the opportunity to try and retain the title they claimed two years ago in Peru and go for back-to-back crowns to follow up on their bronze medal from last year’s European Championship in Ankara.

For further information visit http://www.cev.lu/


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news