Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Olympiakos take the Greek League Cup

The Olympiakos club is the current leader in Greece’s national league
Athens, Greece, March 6, 2013 - This past weekend Olympiakos Piraeus beat AO Kifisias in straight sets (25-21, 25-23, and 25-17) to take the “Nikos Samaras” Cup.

Olympiakos spiker Boyan Yordanov (BUL) was voted MVP while additional awards were presented to Georgios Stefanou (Best Libero), Demetris Nikolakis (Best Setter) as well as to Brazilian Igor de Sosa (Best Spiker). 

Winners Olympiakos set the tone of the game from the very start at the “G. Triantafyllos” sports hall in Vrahati. And although Kifisias proved to be a worthy finalist the club only bagged two individual awards at the end of the match.

By claiming the trophy named after the late captain of Greece’s national team, Nikos Samaras (who prematurely had passed away a couple of months ago) the winners were awarded a cheque of €8,000.

Runners-up, Kifisias took back €4,000 in prize money while the final four teams received €1,000  each.     


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news