Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Tunis, Egypt, Kuwait and Lebanon enter semis at Arab clubs Volleyball championship

The 31st Arab men’s Clubs Volleyball Championship will be held from February 3 to 11, 2013 in Beirut, Lebanon
Beirut, Lebanon, February 7, 2013 – Teams from Tunis, Egypt, Kuwait and Lebanon have booked their tickets to the semifinals of the 31st men’s Arab Clubs Volleyball championship at the Michel El Murr stadium in Lebanon.

The Lebanese team Boushriye downed Ghaz El Janoub from Iraq in straight sets (25-21, 25-19, 25-23), earning the hosts a place in the semifinals while Ahly of Egypt beat Al Seeb of Oman 3-0 (25-17, 25-18, 25-14).

Sohom, the second Omani team in the championship also suffered a straight set defeat at the hands of Tunis’ Sfaksi in 25-18, 25-20, 25-17.

The most exciting match of the day was the one between Libya’s Ahly Tripoli and Kazima from Kuwait.  Ahly came into the lead twice by taking the first and third set but Kazima rallied back to force the match into a tiebreaker, edging their rivals out of the competition, 28-30, 25-22, 21-25, 25-17, 15-11.

There are 15 teams from Tunis, Morocco, Libya, Kuwait, Egypt, Iraq, Oman and Lebanon participating in the 31st Arab men’s Clubs Volleyball Championship. The 15 teams were divided into four groups, and the top two in each group qualified for the quarter finals.

The opening ceremony was held on February 3, 2013 in Michel El Murr stadium in the presence of Lebanon’s Minister of Sports and Youth, Faycal Karame, the Lebanese Olympic Committee president and Lebanese Volleyball Federation president, Jean Hammam, and the FIVB Refereeing Commission president, Hassan Ahmad.

The following teams will meet in the semifinals:

Boishriye (Lebanon) vs. Ahly (Egypt)
Sfaksi (Tunis) vs. Kazima (Kuwait)


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news