Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

New Zealand holds age group championships at Mt. Maunganui

The O'Dea brothers won the first National Tour event of 2013 - they will soon move on to Hamilton for the next competition
Auckland, New Zealand, January 25, 2013 – The beach at Mt. Maunganui played host to New Zealand’s national age group championships on, with a total of 86 teams taking part. Four competitions – the U23, U19, U17 and U15 championships – were held under a warm New Zealand summer sun.

The U23 category saw Holly Boyle and Beniece Douch take the women’s crown. Jana Furlan and Charlotte Venter were runners-up, followed by Beatrice and Anne-Marie Petty. The men’s title went to Jess Hawkins and Thomas Hartles, with Thomas Heijs and Manaia Harris second, and Jesse Kempf and Cameron Keetly third.

The U19 women’s competition was won by Alex Lawrence and Alice Bain, with Maro Venter and Bex Story second, and Julia Hartkey and Abbie Meredith third. On the men’s side, Brad Fullerton and Liam Matheson beat Thomas Reid and Daryl Lewis to first place while Mitch Hallett and Alani Nicklin took third.

Emma bain and Kiana Tawa were winners in the girls’ U17 division, ahead of Michaela Wooller and Alex Campbell-Smith, and Lydia Fookes and Jessie Meiklejohn. Cam Stewart and John Ward were the boys’ champions, over Perry Preston and Fletcher Swann, with Joel Ropitini and Takiwa Maxwell third.

Only first place was awarded in the girls’ U15 division, to Erin Rush and Brianna Roberts, while on the boys’ side Ashton Howard and Matt Howe-Smith, Jack Gallivan and Liam Fannin, and Keegan Joe and Jonah Naborisi were first, second and third.

The age group competitions were held alongside the first of three National Tour events, which drew international participation from Germany, USA, Fiji and Australia. Sam and Ben O’Dea were named 2013 North Harbour Open champions.


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news