Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Pools set for Junior Worlds qualifiers

Italy junior men's national team claimed the right to join this year's World Champs after topping the final standings of the European Championship held last August in Gdynia, Poland
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, January 18, 2013 - A total of four vacancies per gender will be at stake from May 7 to 12 as a series of qualification tournaments will be held to fill the spots assigned to Europe for the 2013 FIVB Junior Volleyball World Championship coming up later this summer.

The host countries and the 2012 European champions – Turkey and Italy (men) in addition to the Czech Republic and Turkey (women) – have already pre-qualified. The winners of the various qualifying events coming up this May will eventually join the World Championships that are scheduled for June 21 to 30 in Brno (Czech Republic) for women and from August 22 to September 1 for the men in Ankara and Izmir (Turkey).   

With teams distributed across the four tournaments according to the serpentine system, the composition of the pools is as follows:


Pool A: Russia (org.), Greece, Denmark, Montenegro, Austria
Pool B: Belgium, Poland, France (org.), Portugal, Latvia
Pool C: Bulgaria (org.), Germany, Estonia, Romania, Israel
Pool D: Serbia (org.), Spain, Slovakia, Finland, Czech Republic, Croatia

Pool D will be the group to watch. Hosts Serbia will no doubt try to compensate for a disastrous campaign at last year’s European Championships when they play the vice European champion, Spain anchored by their superstar Andres J. Villena.

Pool A: Serbia (org.), Belgium, France, Portugal, Denmark
Pool B: Italy (org.), Slovakia, Finland, Spain
Pool C: Germany, Bulgaria (org.), Croatia, Greece, Latvia
Pool D: Russia (org.), Poland, Romania, Slovenia

Pool C is set for a showdown as Germany and Bulgaria, in addition to a solid and ambitious Greek squad, will battle to the end for the opportunity to take part in the World Championships.

Only the winners of the various groups will qualify for the U21 World Championships.


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news