Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Uganda concludes local beach volleyball season as the International Club Championships get underway at Entebbe

Emmanuel Kato spikes in the semifinal against Dickens Otim and Ambrose Okello - Although Kato and Dickson Limo won gold, Otim retained his top ranking in 2012
Entebbe, Uganda, November 11, 2012 – No one would have easily predicted the outcome of the fourth and last leg of the Club National Beach Volleyball Circuit on October 28, 2012 at Lido beach resort. Even the early morning rains didn’t deter the zealous players from putting their best game forward. In the women’s category, it was a clear do-or-die situation as several contenders fought tough elimination matches from the quarterfinals through to the final.

Alice Okecho, who had held the top-seed position since August, paired this time around with Sophy Nuwagaba. They lost to third-seeded Sharon Pajije and Vivienne Aketch in the quarterfinals, who beat them in straight sets (21-15, 21-9). Pajije and Aketch, however, succumbed to fourth-seeded Josepine Nammanda and Diaina Agaba in their semifinal (2-1). Nammanda and Agaba were then pitted against the seasoned and consistent pair of Shila Buyungo and Margaret Nambasa, who emerged victors in a 2-1 thriller and took the fourth leg of the Club National Beach Volleyball Circuit. Buyungo and Nambasa ended the season as joint 2012 first seeds in the women’s category.

The men’s category was similarly unpredictable as favorites Dickens Otim and Ambrose Okello were eliminated in the semifinals by a poised team of Emma Kato and Dickson Limo 2-0 (22-20, 21-18). Kato and Limo won the men’s final against a stubborn Ainebyona/Omedo duo. Dickens Otim retained the position of 2012 first seed, however, effectively ensuring that he and the two top ladies are guaranteed special recognition at the Annual National Gala in December.

Now all eyes are focused on the seventh edition of the Club Beach Volleyball Championship, slated for the 17th and 18th of November, 2012. The two-day club-sponsored event will feature teams from the East African region, including Tanzania, Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda and hosts Uganda in both genders. Uganda is currently defending both the men's and women’s crowns.


Shila Buyungo/Margaret Nambasa beat Teckler Mujabi/Phionah Zalwango, 2-0 (21-12, 21-15)
Hafsa Nakalema/Prossy Alobo beat Veronica Nyiramugisha/Shamim Makongoro, 2-0 (21-10, 21-10)
Josephine Nammanda/Diana Agaba beat Vivian Adeke/Nanfuka Maria, 2-0 (21-8, 21-17)
Sharon Pajije/Vivienne Aketch beat Alice Okecho/Sophie Nuwagaba, 2-0 (21-15, 21-9)

Shila Buyungo/Margaret Nambasa beat Hafsa Nakalema/Prossy Alobo, 2-1 (22-20, 18-21, 15-4)
Josephine Nammanda/Diana Agaba beat Sharon Pajije/Vivienne Aketch, 2-1 (21-18, 16-21, 15-6)

Shila Buyungo/Margaret Nambasa beat Josephine Nammanda/Diana Agaba, 2-1 (17-21, 22-20, 15-0)

Dickens Otim/Ambrose Okello beat Richard Tamale/ Gadafi Tamale, 2-0 (21-9, 21-15)
Emma Kato/Dickson Limo beat JB Opendi/D. Muhwezi, 2-0 (21-15, 21-16)
Amon Ainebyona/Mathew Mwenyi beat Emmanual Rugaba/Mike Ahabwe, 2-0 (21-10, 21-14)
Hanninton Nsubuga/Isaac Omedo beat Tony Lakony/Johnson Kawenyera, 2-0 (21-13, 21-16)

Emma Kato/Dickson Limo beat Dickens Otim/Ambrose Okello, 2-0 (22-20, 21-18)
Amon Ainebyona/Mathew Mwenyi beat Hanninton Nsubuga/Isaac Omedo, 2-1 (15-21, 21-12, 15-11)

Emma Kato/Dickson Limo beat Amon Ainebyona/Mathew Mwenyi, 2-0 (21-14, 21-17)

Top five 2012 rankings

1.       Shila Buyungo/Margaret Nambasa 500 points
2.       Josephine Namanda 485 points
3.       Alice Okecho 475
4.       Sharon Pajije/Vivienne Aketch 470
5.       Diana Agaba 425 points

1.       Dickens Otim 550 points
2.       Amon Ainebyona 535 points
3.       Isaac Omedo 520 points
4.       Emmanuel Kato 485 points
5.       Ambrose Okello 480


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news