Anim Flash

Rabita Baju seal ultimate prize at Club world championships in doha

The FIVB Club World Championships returned once again to Doha, Qatar from October 8-14, 2011. Six women’s clubs from the different confederations competed for the title but it was debutants Rabita Baku of Azerbaijan who finished on top, beating Turkey's VakifBank Ttelekom Istanbul in the final.

The women’s edition was successfully reintroduced last year after a long break since the last edition in 1994 in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

It was the first time a club from Azerbaijan had sealed the FIVB Women's Club World Championship crown. With their victory, Rabita Baju have become the third European team in history to win the title after the Italians of Messaggero Ravenna in 1992 and Fenerbahce's win last year.




1       Rabita Baku (AZE)
2      VakifBank Ttelekom Istanbul  (TUR)
3     Sollys Nestle Osasco (BRA)
4     Mirador Santo Domingo (DOM)
5     Kenya Prisons Nairobi (KEN)
      Chang Bangkok (THA)