Friday, 25 June 2021
Back to FIVB's homepage
RSS RSS l Contact l 
FIVB Men’s Volleyball Club World Championship
Doha, Qatar
15 - 21 December 2010

 Press Release
Trentino and Fenerbahce on top of the world

The captain of Trentino BetClic, Matey Kaziyski, receiving the trophy from FIVB Executive Vice-President André Meyer

Doha, Qatar, December 21, 2010 – Trentino BetClic claimed a second consecutive FIVB Men's Club World Championship crown by defeating Poland's PGE Skra Belchatow in four sets (25-22, 25-19, 20-25, 25-15) in the final in Doha on Tuesday, while Fenerbahce beat Brazil's Sollys Osasco in straight sets (25-23, 25-22, 25-17) to clinch the women's title for the first time.

Radostin Stoytchev's defending champions became the second in history to have won the world title twice, following the example of Misura Milano who did so back in 1990 and 1992, although Trentino's feat of back-to-back triumphs is unique in Volleyball history. Trentino's Cuban star, Osmany Juantorena, was voted MVP of the tournament, while Juan Stokr finished as the final's 18-point top scorer.

Peyman Akbari's Paykan also completed a wonderful campaign at the Championships by taking bronze, the exact result the Tehran club had targeted when they arrived in Qatar some 10 days ago. Paykan showed the physical, technical and mental strength they possess by coming back from two sets down against Argentina's Drean Bolivar to prevail 3-2 (23-25, 23-25, 25-23, 25-20, 15-13).

With 25 points, Federico Pereyra was once again top scorer for the Argentinians, coached by 1988 Olympic bronze medallist Javier Weber, while Seyed Mehdi Bazargarde excelled for the Iranian side with 18. The bronze medal confirms the tremendous progress made in Volleyball by Iran, whose national teams have become more and more successful on the international stage in the past few years.

Istanbul club Fenerbahce scaled a new peak on Tuesday afternoon after beating South American titleholders Sollys Osasco 3-0 (25-23, 25-22, 25-17) to become the first team in 16 years to claim the 2010 FIVB Women's Club World Championship.

The FIVB reintroduced the Women's Club World Championship this year after a long break since the last edition in 1994 in Sao Paulo, and with their victory, Fenerbahce have become the second European team in history to win the title after the Italians of Messaggero Ravenna in 1992. Fenerbahce, the first Turkish side to land a major international honour, achieved the feat in some style, not losing a single set over the course of the competition.

Although this contest followed Fenerbahce's preferred template of straight sets, Ze Roberto's charges did not simply cruise to the crown and some of the action on court was superb. Once again Fenerbahce's prolific Katarzyna Skowronska finished as the game's top scorer with 15 points, supported by Liubov Sokolova with 14. 

Italy's Foppapedretti Bergamo bounced back from the disappointment of their semifinal loss to Osasco by claiming bronze in the day's earlier game against the Dominican Republic's Mirador which they won in four sets (25-8, 23-25, 25-8, 25-15).  Bergamo dominated the first and third sets but in between lost their way briefly as they surrendered a 14-8 lead in dropping the second set. However, with notable contributions from Lucia Bosetti and Serena Ortolani, top scorers for the Italians with 20 and 17 points respectively, Davide Mazzanti's side restored their supremacy in set four. 

Women’s Highest Scorer by day
Day 1 (Pool A): 20 points by Natalia (Sollys Osasco) in Sollys Osasco's 3-0 win over Federbrau

Day 2 (Pool A): 18 points by Natalia (Sollys Osasco) in Fenerbahce's 3-0 win over Sollys Osasco

Day 3 (Pool B): 13 points by Serena Ortolani (Foppapedretti Bergamo) in Bergamo's 3-0 win over Kenya Prisons 

Day 4 (Pool A): 24 points by Katarzyna Skowronska-Dolata (Fenerbahce) in Fenerbahce's 3-0 win over Federbrau

Day 5 (Semifinals): 18 points by Katarzyna Skowronska-Dolata (Fenerbahce) in Fenerbahce's 3-0 win over Mirador

Day 6 (Finals): 20 points by Lucia Bosetti (Foppapedretti Bergamo) in Bergamo's 3-1 win over Mirador

Men's Highest Scorer by day
Day 1 (Pool A): 27 points by Christian Pampel (Al-Arabi Doha) in Al-Arabi Doha's 3-1 win over Al-Ahly

Day 2 (Pool A): 19 points by Mariusz Wlazly (PGE Skra Belchatow) in PGE Skra Belchatow's 3-2 win over Paykan

Day 3 (Pool A): 19 points by Christian Pampel (Al-Arabi Doha) in PGE Skra Belchatow's 3-0 win over Al-Arabi Doha

Day 4 (Pool A): 24 points by Seyed Mehdi Bazargarde (Paykan) in Paykan's 3-1 win over Al-Arabi Doha

Day 5 (Semifinals): 20 points by Mariusz Wlazly (PGE Skra Belchatow) in Belchatow's 3-0 win over Drean Bolivar

Day 6 (Finals): 25 points by Federico Pereyra (Drean Bolivar) in Paykan's 3-2 win over Drean Bolivar

Women's Highest Set score
30-28 (Sollys Osasco v Federbrau in Pool A) played on December 15 (Day 1)

Men's Highest Set score
27-25 (Al-Arabi Doha v Al-Ahly in Pool A), (Drean Bolivar v Paul Mitchell in Pool B) played on December 15 (Day 1), (Trentino BetClic v Dynamo Moscow in Pool B) played on December 16 (Day 2), (Paykan v Al-Arabi Doha in Pool A) played on December 19 (Day 4) and (PGE Skra Belchatow v Drean Bolivar, semifinal) played on December 20 (Day 5)  

FIVB Tournaments coming soon
FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championships (June 17-26, 2011) Rome, Italy

More press releases
20/12/2010 Trentino, Belchatow set up rematch as Bergamo crash out
19/12/2010 Semi lineup set after Drean Bolivar spring surprise
17/12/2010 Trentino and Belchatow advance with game to spare
16/12/2010 Trentino show class, Fenerbahce underline credentials
15/12/2010 Club World Championships start on a high note in Doha
14/12/2010 Twin world crowns at stake as women return
14/12/2010 FIVB launches Media Guide for Club World Champs
13/12/2010 Qatar gets set for a festival of Volleyball
13/12/2010 In-form Belchatow taking one game at a time
13/12/2010 Hildebrand realistic but raring to go
10/12/2010 Dynamo Moscow looking to new blood
10/12/2010 Ibrahim targets semifinal spot for Al Ahly
7/12/2010 De Cecco wants fast start from Drean Bolivar
6/12/2010 Paul Mitchell relish test against 'best in world'
6/12/2010 Captain Kaziyski aims to keep crown
1/12/2010 Opportunity knocks for Russian wildcards
30/11/2010 Al Ahly realistic about facing world's best
29/11/2010 Sky's the limit for high-flying Skra, says Nawrocki
29/11/2010 New boys Bolivar undaunted by Doha challenge
23/11/2010 Team rosters released for Club World Championship
1/11/2010 Drean Bolivar seal tickets to Doha
29/10/2010 Cimed begin South American campaign in style
28/10/2010 Argentine hopefuls make winning starts
24/10/2010 Trentino face Dynamo opener in Club World Championship
22/10/2010 Doha awaits World Club Championship draw
13/06/2010 Paykan of Iran book ticket to FIVB World Men’s Club Championship
10/05/2010 Cuneo crowned champs as Trentino denied Serie A1 for second year
29/04/2010 FIVB Club World Championships date set for December 14-21

  Photo gallery