Thursday, 1 October 2020
Back to FIVB's homepage
RSS RSS l Contact l 
FIVB Men’s Volleyball Club World Championship
Doha, Qatar
15 - 21 December 2010

 Press Release
FIVB Club World Championships date set for December 14-21

Trentino won last year's tournament in Doha, Qatar
Lausanne, Switzerland, April 29, 2010 – The dates for the 2010 FIVB Club World Championships have been confirmed with this year’s edition of the annual World Championships for clubs around the world due to take place in Doha, Qatar from December 14-21.

The decision, made earlier this month at the FIVB’s Board of Administration in the Dominican Republic, follows a signing ceremony in February between the FIVB and the Qatar Volleyball Federation (QVA) which officially confirmed Doha as the host city for the 2010 FIVB Club World Championships.

This year’s tournament will see the women’s event return for the first time since 1994, and earlier this year the FIVB made the landmark announcement that the men’s and women’s matches would alternate throughout the competition.

The FIVB Club World Championships returned for the first time in 17 years in 2009, with Trentino BetClic from Italy claiming the honours after defeating PGE SKRA Belchatow from Poland 3-0 in the final last November.

So far the only side to qualify for the 2010 FIVB Club World Championships is the Bergamo women’s team from Italy. However the CEV Men’s Champions League Final Four is set to take place this weekend in Lodz, Poland, and the African Men’s Club Championship is due to conclude on Friday, with both winners booking places in the world’s premier club tournament.

Elsewhere, the African Women’s Club Championship is set to take place from May 8-18, the Asian Men’s Club Championship is due to be held from June 5-13 and the Asian Women’s Club Championship runs from June 26-July 4. A date is still to be confirmed for the Men’s and Women’s Club South American Championship while NORCECA has still to reveal how its teams will qualify.

              FIVB Club World Championships History


1989 - First edition - Parma, ITALY

1. Maxicono Parma (ITA)

2. CSKA Moscow (URS)

3. CA Pirelli Sao Paulo (BRA)

4. EC Banespa Sao Paulo (BRA)

5. Nippon Steel (JPN)

6. CS Sfaxien (TUN)


1990 - Second edition - Milan, ITALY

1. Mediolanum Milano (ITA)

2. Banespa Sao Paulo (BRA)

3. Maxicono Parma (ITA)

4. Il Messaggero Ravenna (ITA)

5. CSKA Moscow (URS)

6. Philips Modena (ITA)

7. ASP Mahad (ALG)

8. J.T. Hiroshima (JPN)


1991 - Third edition - Sao Paulo, BRAZIL

1. Il Messaggero Ravenna (ITA)

2. ECBanespa Sao Paulo (BRA)

3. Mediolanum Milano (ITA)

4. AA Frangosul (BRA)

5. Taiwan (TPE)

6. CSKA Moscow (RUS)

7. Club Africane (TUN)

8. Naranjito (PUR)


1992 - Fourth edition - Treviso, ITALY

1. Misura Mediolanum Milano (ITA)

2. Sisley Treviso (ITA)

3. Olympiakos Pireo (GRE)

4. Il Messaggero Ravenna (ITA)

5. Sang Mu (KOR)

5. Banespa Sao Paulo (BRA)

7. Club Africane (TUN)

7. Corozal (PUR)


2009 - Fifth edition - Doha, QATAR

1.Trentino Betclic (ITA)

2. PGE Skra Belchatow (POL)

3. Zenit Kazan (RUS)

4. Payakan (IRI)

5. Al-Arabi (QAT)

Cimed (BRA)
Corozal (PUR)
Zamalek (EGY)


1991 - First Edition - Sao Paulo, BRAZIL

1. Sadia Esporte Club Sao Paulo (BRA)

2. Colgate Sao Caetano (BRA)

3. Mladost Zagreb (YUG)

4. Occhi Verdi Modena (ITA)

5. Hitachi (JPN)

6. Yoghi Ancona (ITA)

7. Chrysler (USA)

8. Posta (KEN)


1992 - Second Edition - Jesi, ITALY

1. Il Messaggero Ravenna (ITA)

2. Acqua di Fiori Minas (BRA)

3. Uralochka Ekaterinenburg (RUS)

4. Brummel Ancona (ITA)

5. Colgate Sao Caetano (BRA)

5. Hitachi (JPN)

7. Chrysler Californians (USA)

7. Posta (KEN)


1994 - Third Edition - Sao Paulo, BRAZIL

1. Leite Moca Sao Paulo (BRAZIL)

2. Parmalat Matera (ITA)

3. BCN Guarujà (BRA)

4. Uralotchka Sverdlovsk (RUS)

5. Camaguey (CUB)

5. Ecoclear Sumirago (ITA)















More press releases
21/12/2010 Trentino and Fenerbahce on top of the world
20/12/2010 Trentino, Belchatow set up rematch as Bergamo crash out
19/12/2010 Semi lineup set after Drean Bolivar spring surprise
17/12/2010 Trentino and Belchatow advance with game to spare
16/12/2010 Trentino show class, Fenerbahce underline credentials
15/12/2010 Club World Championships start on a high note in Doha
14/12/2010 Twin world crowns at stake as women return
14/12/2010 FIVB launches Media Guide for Club World Champs
13/12/2010 Qatar gets set for a festival of Volleyball
13/12/2010 In-form Belchatow taking one game at a time
13/12/2010 Hildebrand realistic but raring to go
10/12/2010 Dynamo Moscow looking to new blood
10/12/2010 Ibrahim targets semifinal spot for Al Ahly
7/12/2010 De Cecco wants fast start from Drean Bolivar
6/12/2010 Paul Mitchell relish test against 'best in world'
6/12/2010 Captain Kaziyski aims to keep crown
1/12/2010 Opportunity knocks for Russian wildcards
30/11/2010 Al Ahly realistic about facing world's best
29/11/2010 Sky's the limit for high-flying Skra, says Nawrocki
29/11/2010 New boys Bolivar undaunted by Doha challenge
23/11/2010 Team rosters released for Club World Championship
1/11/2010 Drean Bolivar seal tickets to Doha
29/10/2010 Cimed begin South American campaign in style
28/10/2010 Argentine hopefuls make winning starts
24/10/2010 Trentino face Dynamo opener in Club World Championship
22/10/2010 Doha awaits World Club Championship draw
13/06/2010 Paykan of Iran book ticket to FIVB World Men’s Club Championship
10/05/2010 Cuneo crowned champs as Trentino denied Serie A1 for second year

  Photo gallery