London 2012


The qualification criteria for Beach Volleyball at the 2012 Olympic Games has undergone a major change with countries rather than individual teams qualifying and the introduction of the Continental Beach Volleyball Cup and the Beach Volleyball World Cup Olympic Qualification Tournament.

In previous Olympics, the top 23 teams on the world rankings plus one host country team (granted) qualified for the Olympic Games. The 2012 edition of the Olympic Qualification system will offer the opportunity to more countries to compete within three types of qualifying tournaments for a quota place at the Olympic Games.

The Beach Volleyball Continental Cup and the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Cup provide a new opportunity for countries to qualify for the Olympic Games, bearing in mind there are a maximum of two vacancies per NOC and 16 vacancies already allocated via the FIVB World Rankings.

A record-breaking total of 142 countries across 62 tournaments have been confirmed to participate in the Continental Beach Volleyball Cup. The first edition of the Continental Beach Volleyball Cup was launched by CEV in July, 2010 in Russia.

The Continental Cup is a country versus country Olympic qualifying event for continents staged from June 25, 2010 to July 1, 2012 and disputed at continental levels (subzone, zone, final). The five winners of the Beach Volleyball Continental  Cup – one from each Continent - will qualify for the Olympics.

The FIVB Beach Volleyball World Cup Olympic Qualification tournament will take place from June 25 to July 1, 2012 and offers two additional Olympic berths for countries which have not qualified through either the world rankings or the Continental Cup.

To be eligible for the 2012 Olympic Games from the World ranking, athletes must have participated in at least 12 events as a team in the FIVB Beach Volleyball Swatch World Championships, the FIVB Beach Volleyball Swatch World Tour and recognised Continental Tour Finals within the Olympic qualification period from January 1, 2011 to June 17, 2012.

To be eligible to qualify through the Beach Volleyball Continental Cup and/or FIVB Beach Volleyball World Cup, and/or Olympic Trials, athletes must have participated as an individual in at least 12 Continental Beach Volleyball Cup, National and/or Continental and/or FIVB events scheduled from June 1, 2010 until June 24, 2012.

Once a vacancy is earned, a NOC/NF can stage National Olympic Trials from July 3-8, 2012 to determine the athletes to participate at the 2012 Olympic Games in London, respecting the athlete technical eligibility requirements.

Official documents:
Olympic Games Qualification System: English | French  Updated on June 23, 2011


1: Host country (Great Britain)

16: from the World Ranking (i.e. 12 best results between the World Championships, World Tour and recognized Continental Tour during the period 1 January 2011 until 17 June 2012)

5: from the FIVB Beach Volleyball Continental Cup (played between June 1, 2010-June 24, 2012)

2: from the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Cup Olympic Qualification (25 June – 1 July, 2012)

FIVB Beach Volleyball Continental Cup


The Olympic qualifying process for the 2008 Olympic Games drew 60 countries but now, with the introduction of the innovative Beach Volleyball Continental Cup, more countries than ever before will have the chance to taste what it is like to participate in the qualifying process.

View formula

View full results

Organising country


As host-nation, Great Britain is automatically granted one men's and women's team, regardless of their performance in the Olympics qualification process.

Olympic Qualification Ranking

View Olympic Qualification Rankings:
Men | Women

View FIVB Beach Volleyball SWATCH World Tour 2012 calendar