Volley WorldWorld Volley NewsYear BookRules - VolleyballRules - Beach volleyballMedical
Online AccreditationLogin for Media Club members
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Ugandan teams dominate at home in the 7th Club International Beach Volleyball Championships

Kenya's Too Naome defends as partner Chepkoech prepares for the counter at the international championship in Entebbe
Entebbe, Uganda, November 20, 2012 – The Ugandan crowd was exhilarated as home teams affirmed the country’s regional dominance in beach volleyball during the 7th edition of the Club International Beach Volleyball Championships, November 17 and 18 at Lido Beach Resort in Entebbe. Ugandan pairs took both the women’s and men’s titles in a repeat of last year’s show.

The men’s final was close at first, but Uganda’s Dickens Otim and Ambrose Okello pulled away from Burundi’s Briand Mugabowingabo and Yvan Dukudane to win a third consecutive international championship 2-1 (19-21, 21-16, 15-11). The duo from Burundi, Africa’s continental junior champions in 2012, bagged the first set with composed tactical play and started the second set strongly as well before the Ugandans stepped up their game to earn the tie-breaker and eventually the victory.

It was the second gold for Uganda following the earlier women’s final – a pure Ugandan Sunday afternoon pitting Sharon Pajije and Vivienne Aketch against Alice Okecho and Sophy Nuwagaba. Pajije and Aketch came out on top, overcoming their stubborn opponents for a 2-1 (14-21, 21-18, 15-13) comeback win. Pajije and Aketch changed their game plan in set two to claw back from their first-set loss before outlasting Okecho and Nuwagaba in a tight final set. As in the men’s category, this is the second consecutive year that Uganda retains the championship title.

The two-day event attracted teams from Burundi, Kenya, Tanzania and debutants Zanzibar, as well as hosts Uganda. Timothy Kayondo, national sales and marketing manager for sponsor Nile Breweries, presided over the awards ceremony alongside Uganda Volleyball Federation president Sadik Zaid Nasiwu.

The next edition of the Club International Beach Volleyball Championships is slated for November 16 and 17, 2013.



Alice Okecho/Sophy Nuwagaba v Vivian Adeke/Barbara Bangi 2-1 (21-11, 14-21, 15-6)
Tabitha Mercy/Mariam Nakamanya v Christine Alupo/Peace Busingye 2-1 (21-16, 16-21, 15-10)
Diana Agaba/Josephine Nammanda v Shila Buyungo/Margaret Nambasa 2-0 (21-11, 21-15)
Vivienne Aketch/Sharon Pajije v Prossy Alobo/Hafsa Nakalema 2-1 (22-20, 18-21, 15-13)


Alice Okecho/Sophy Nuwagaba v Diana Agaba/Josephine Nammanda 2-1 (21-16, 20-22, 15-9)
Vivienne Aketch/Sharon Pajije v Tabitha Mercy/Mariam Nakamanya 2-0 (21-13, 29-27)

Vivienne Aketch/Sharon Pajije v Alice Okecho/Sophy Nuwagaba 2-1 (14-21, 21-18, 15-13)


Briand Mugabowingabo/Yvan Dukudane v Henry Bbaale/Deo Nsereko 2-0 (21-15, 22-20)
Mathew Mutai/Evans Bera v Amon Ainebyona/Mathew Mwenyi 2-1 (15-21, 21-19, 15-13)
Isaac Omedo/Hannington Nsubuga v Tony Lakony/Johnson Kawenyera 2-0 (21-13, 21-16)
Dickens Otim/Ambrose Okello v Emmanuel Rugaba/Mike Ahabwe 2-0 (21-14, 21-11)

Briand Mugabowingabo/Yvan Dukudane v Mathew Mutai/Evans Bera 2-1 (21-18, 19-21, 15-11)
Dickens Otim/Ambrose Okello v Isaac Omedo/Hannington Nsubuga 2-0 (21-10, 21-18)

Dickens Otim/Ambrose Okello v Briand Mugabowingabo/Yvan Dukudane 2-1 (19-21, 21-16, 15-11)

Final rankings:

1st – Vivienne Aketch/Sharon Pajije (Uganda)
2nd – Alice Okecho/Sophy Nuwagaba (Uganda)
3rd – Tabitha Mercy/Mariam Nakamanya (Uganda)
4th – Josephine Nammanda/Diana Agaba (Uganda)

1st – Dickens Otim/Ambrose Okello (Uganda)
2nd – Briand Mugabowingabo/Yvan Dukudane (Burundi)
3rd – Hannington Nsubuga/Isaac Omedo (Uganda)
4th – Mathew Mutai/Evans Bera (Kenya)

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news