FIVB HistoryFIVB PresidentContacts
Board of Administration and Executive Committee Meetings World CongressBoard of AdministrationExecutive CommitteeCommissionsCouncilsJudicial Bodies
AVC ContactsCAVB ContactsCEV ContactsCSV ContactsNORCECA Contacts
2017 Volleyball and Beach Homologation Procedures FIVB Homologated Equipment List
List of transfers
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Dr Saleh Bin Nasser re-elected AVC president

Dr Saleh Bin Nasser (right) was elected unanimously as the president of the Asian Volleyball Confederation in the presence of FIVB President Jizhong Wei

Taipei, Chinese Taipei, September 22, 2011 - Dr Saleh Bin Nasser was unanimously elected president of the Asian Volleyball Confederation for a four-year term at the AVC General Assembly in Chinese Taipei on Thursday.

The 61 out of the 65 AVC national federations attending the 19th AVC General Assembly voted Dr. Bin Nasser in for his first full term after he took over the AVC presidency from Mr Jizhong Wei in 2008 following the latter’s appointment as FIVB President.
“It is very hard for me to choose words to express my feelings now,” he said following the announcement. “Thank you all for your trust and confidence in me. I promise you that I will do my utmost and work hard, with your help, to fulfill my obligations in the coming four years for the development of volleyball and beach volleyball in the AVC. We will show to the FIVB and the members in the volleyball world our solidarity among the Asian volleyball family.”

The new AVC Board of Administration, which consists of 20 members, was also elected at the meeting. Voted on to the board was Mr Essa Hamza Ahmad (Kuwait), Mr Ibrahim Abdul Malik Mohammed (UAE), Mr Khalid Ali Al-Mawlawi (Qatar), Mr Chaudhry Muhammad Yaqoob (Pakistan), Mr M.R. Davarzani (Iran), Mr Golam Quddus Chowdhury (Pakistan), Mr Dilan Perera (Sri Lanka), Mr Shanrit Wongprasert (Thailand), Mr Tran Duc Phan (Vietnam), Mr Heyzer Harsono (Indonesia), Mr Taizaburo Nakano (Japan), Mr Cai Yi (China), Dr Eom Hanjoo (Korea), Mr Emmet Hsu (Chinese Taipei), Mr Allan Brodie (New Zealand), Mr Chris Schacht (Australia), Mrs Rita Subowo (Indonesia), Mrs Fang S. V. Alice Oliver (Macao). The remaining Board member who represents the Oceania Zone will be named at a later date.

Meanwhile, Mr Hamza Ahmad was named AVC first executive vice-president while Mr Nakano was announced as AVC vice-president, Mr Yi was named executive vice-president for AVC Eastern Zone, Mr Wongprasert  was named executive vice-president for AVC South Eastern Zone, Mr Malik Mohammed was named executive vice-president for AVC Western Zone, Mr Muhammad Yaqoob was named executive vice-president for AVC Central Zone and Mr Brodie was named executive vice-president for AVC Oceania Zone.

The AVC General Assembly also appointed the chairmen of technical committees:
Sports Event Council: Mr Wongprasert (Thailand)
Referees Committee Mr Mohamad Habib Ali (Kuwait)
Coaches Committee: Mr Zhu Jiaming (China)
Financial Committee: Mr Hamza Ahmad (Kuwait)
Medical Committee: Dr Yuichiro Hamu (Japan)
Beach Volleyball Council: Mrs Subowo (Indonesia)
Development and Marketing Committee: Mr Suzara (The Phillipines)

The Assembly also elected the Asian members of the FIVB Board of Administration, subject to confirmation by the FIVB Congress in the autumn of 2012. They are: Dr Bin Nasser, Mr Hamza Ahmad, Mr Yi,  Mr Wongprasert , Dr B. Sivanthi Adityan (India), Mr Taizaburo Nakano, Mr Schacht and Mrs Subowo.

President Wei told members of the assembly: "
These assemblies are crucial as they not only confirm the continental candidates for the FIVB Board of Administration; they also provide a clear mandate for each confederation to continue their strong development policy in collaboration with the FIVB.

"The continental general assemblies now have a national federation attendance rate of more than 90 per cent and, as we enter a new era of development for volleyball and beach volleyball, it is pleasing to see that democracy is allowing everyone to have a voice. All affiliated national federations have been provided with the necessary conditions to meet every year, one year with their confederations, and the following year at the FIVB World Congress. I am happy to say that this will continue as we strive for a more democratic organisation.

"We need to continue creating unity, not only around an individual, but around the elected leadership team. As FIVB President, my wish is to have the power controlled and limited so that the rights of national federations and continental confederations are guaranteed. The FIVB should not only lead, but also serve.

"Every FIVB achievement realised in the past has been down to a common effort from all national federations, confederations, players and officials. Naturally, personal roles cannot be neglected, but everyone should be directed towards one common goal. For this I thank all national federations for their support and all my colleagues for their devotion and continued contribution."

Download highresolution

| More



Other news