FIVB HistoryFIVB PresidentContacts
Board of Administration and Executive Committee Meetings World CongressBoard of AdministrationExecutive CommitteeCommissionsCouncilsJudicial Bodies
AVC ContactsCAVB ContactsCEV ContactsCSV ContactsNORCECA Contacts
2017 Volleyball and Beach Homologation Procedures FIVB Homologated Equipment List
List of transfers
Contact l RSS RSS l Login

André Meyer re-elected as CEV President

FIVB President Jizhong Wei attended the XXXII CEV General Assembly which determined the CEV president and board of administration members

Vienna, Austria, September 17, 2011 – FIVB vice-president and treasurer André Meyer was re-elected president of the European Volleyball Confederation on Saturday in Vienna for another four-year term after receiving an almost unanimous mandate from the delegates representing 54 national federations that were in attendance at the XXXII CEV General Assembly.

After assuming the presidency of the CEV back in 2001, Mr Meyer has been driving the European Volleyball Confederation throughout 10 years of massive development for the sport and will be chairing Europe’s volleyball governing body for the next four years.

“I have to sincerely thank all of you for your support,” said Mr Meyer, evidently touched. “I also feel the responsibility to pay back the trust and confidence you have shown in me and I will be working hard to live up to your high expectations also in the years to come”.
With the FIVB President Jizhong Wei and other FIVB confederation presidents also in attendance, elections also took place for the CEV Board of Administration with Mr. Meyer being joined by Aleksandar Boricic (SRB), Agustin Martin Santos (ESP), Renato Arena (ITA), Banu Can Schürmann (LIE), Jan Hronek (CZE), Achilleas Mavromatis (GRE), Miroslaw Przedpelski (POL), Philip Berben (BEL), Vladimir Patkin (RUS), Sinem Mavili (TUR), Peter Kleinmann (AUT), Dancho Lazarov (BUL), Eric Adler (DEN), Margaret Ann Fleming (SCO), Maris Pekalis (LAT) and Lubor Halanda (SVK).
Aleksandar Boricic was appointed CEV senior vice president, Philip Berben vice president & treasurer, Jan Hronek vice president responsible for administrative affairs, while additional vice presidents are Agustin Martin Santos, Renato Arena, Miroslaw Przedpelski, Banu Can Schürmann and Sinem Mavili.   
Presidents were appointed also for all Commissions created under the umbrella of the CEV:
•European Financial Commission (EFC): Philip Berben (BEL);
•European Beach Volleyball Commission (EBVC): Renato Arena (ITA);
•European Cups Commission: Riet Ooms (NED);
•European Medical Commission (EMC): Prof. Dr. Manfred Holzgraefe (GER);
•European Legal Commission (ELC): Aloys Fischer (SUI);
•European Sports Organizing Commission (ESOC): Pierre Mulheims (LUX);
•European Refereeing Commission (ERC): Jan Rek (SUI);
•European Coaches Commission (ECOC): Aleksandar Boricic (SRB).  

Elections were held also to determine the European members of the FIVB Board of Administration subject to confirmation by the FIVB Congress in autumn 2012, as the next FIVB Congress is set to take place in Anaheim, USA, in late October 2012.  Together with Mr Meyer this duty was assigned to Aleksandar Boricic, Miroslaw Przedpelski, Renato Arena, Philip Berben, Stanislav Shevchenko (RUS), Vicente de Araujo (POR), Theofanis Tsiokris (GRE) and Agustin Martin Santos.  
This morning the CEV officially unveiled its new website after some months and weeks of very tough work. More user-friendly and with many additional resources, the website is still partly a work in progress but shall definitely live up to the expectations of all fans as well as of the media.      

Download highresolution

| More



Other news