Stavanger  2005   Women's Grand Slam
29.06.2005 -  02.07.2005

FIVB Home Page
Beach Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Photo Gallery



Men's Stavanger 2005


2005 Informational Kit

STAVANGER 2005 - For the fourth-straight year, the oil capital of Norway hosts a double gender SWATCH-FIVB World Tour event.  However, the 2005 event becomes the second of four “Grand Slam” events on the schedule and directly follows the SWATCH-FIVB World Championships in Berlin.  Stavanger has become a favored Beach Volleyball destination due to the fanatical support the event has enjoyed since its creation in 1999.   Since the southwestern Norwegian city’s landscape has been described as varied, contrasting and inspiring, the unpredictable weather in Stavanger adds to the excitement of the event.  Indeed, it is not unknown for conditions to change dramatically during a match so the athletes need to be well prepared for every possible outcome when they step out onto the sand.  Fjords and mountains, sophisticated city life and a multicultural population all help to create a special atmosphere in Stavanger where the motto is simply to “enjoy life!”


Women – The 2004 Stavanger event helped Norway gain two spots in the women’s competition at the Athens 2004 Olympic Games as Nila Ann Hakedal and Ingrid Torlen placed fifth for the top finish by a Norwegian team in the three Stavanger stops.  Two different teams have won the Stavanger gold medal with the United States sweeping the three podium spots in 2004 led by a first-place finish Holly McPeak and Elaine Youngs, who also captured the inaugural Stavanger event in 2002.


2004 Stavanger Women's Podium

1.  Holly McPeak/Elaine Youngs, United States

2.  Annett Davis/Jenny Johnson Jordan, United States

3.  Rachel Wacholder/Keri Walsh, United States


Gold Medal match - McPeak/Youngs def. Davis/Johnson Jordan, 21-17, 16-21, 15-10 (49 minutes)

Bronze Medal match - Wacholder/Walsh def. Guylaine Dumont/Annie Martin, Canada, 18-21, 21-18, 15-11 (58)

Pic: (from left to right) - Davis, Johnson Jorda, McPeak, Youngs, Wacholder and Walsh


Year – Stavanger Gold Medal / Stavanger Silver Medal / Stavanger Bronze Medal

2002 - Holly McPeak/Elaine Youngs, USA / Natalie Cook/Kerri Pottharst, Australia / Adriana Behar/Shelda Bede, Brazil

2003 – Ana Paula Connelly/Sandra Pires, Brazil / Misty May/Kerri Walsh, USA / Adriana/Shelda, Brazil

2004 - McPeak/Youngs, United States / Annett Davis/Jenny Johnson Jordan, USA / Walsh/Rachel Wacholder, USA


Men – Will another country other than Brazil ever win a men’s SWTACH-FIVB World Tour event in Norway.  Led by Emanuel Rego, Brazilians have been atop the Stavanger podium in each of the six previous events with 13 overall medals.  Emanuel has five gold medals and a bronze while earning $71,250 in Stavanger prize money.  Ricardo Santos has three gold medal finishes and $54,000 in earnings.  Only the 2003 event saw the Brazil capture one podium spot as Argentina and Australia joined Olympic Champions Emanuel and Ricardo on the award’s stand.  Norway’s top finishes are fifths by Vegard Hoidalen and Jorre Kjemperud in 2001 and 2002.


2004 Stavanger Men's Podium

1.  Emanuel Rego/Ricardo Santos, Brazil

2.  Dave Klemperer/Niklas Rademacher, Germany

3.  Franco Neto/Tande Ramos, Brazil


Gold Medal match - Emanuel/Ricardo def. Klemperer/Rademacher, 21-15, 21-17 (37 minutes)

Bronze Medal match - Franco/Tande def. Christoph Dieckmann/Andreas Scheuerpflug, Germany, 18-21, 21-18, 15-10 (54)

Pic: (from left to right) - Klemperer, Rademacher, Ricardo, Emanuel, Franco and Tande


Year – Stavanger Gold Medal / Stavanger Silver Medal / Stavanger Bronze Medal

1999 - Jose Loiola/Emanuel Rego, Brazil / Guilherme Marques/Para Ferreira, Brazil / Ze Marco de Melo/Ricardo Santos, Brazil

2000 - Ze Marco/Ricardo, Brazil / Marcio Araujo/Benjamin Insfran, Brazil / Loiola/Emanuel, Brazil

2001 - Emanuel/Tande Ramos, Brazil / Martin Laciga/Paul Laciga, Switzerland / Para/Ze Marco de, Brazil

2002 - Emanuel/Tande, Brazil / Loiola/Ricardo, Brazil / Stefan Kobel/Patrick Heuscher, Switzerland

2003 - Emanuel/Ricardo, Brazil / Martin Conde/Mariano Baracetti, Argentina / Julien Prosser/Mark Williams, Australia

2004 - Emanuel/Ricardo, Brazil / Dave Klemperer/Niklas Rademacher, Germany / Franco/Tande, Brazil