Bali  2005   Women's Open
14.09.2005 -  18.09.2005

FIVB Home Page
Beach Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Photo Gallery




2005 Informational Kit


INDONESIA 2005 - Indonesia hosts the women’s SWATCH-FIVB World Tour for the fourth time, including the third-stop in Bali, traditionally a mecca for tourists that becomes one of the most inspirational places in the world on the Beach Volleyball circuit.  Arguably one of the last places on earth still to conjure up images of mystique, peace and goodwill, Bali encompasses all the ideals of what is volleyball.  Friendly people and welcoming traditions make for a special event in a special location.  One of the most westerly of the Little Sunda Islands, Bali is one of the nearly 13,700 islands that make up the Republic of Indonesia, the world's largest archipelago.  And it is this setting, which makes it a tranquil yet stirring venue for the international women beach volleyballers of today.  Culture and beauty are two words tossed around frequently when describing Bali, and the World Tour scene of Seminyak Beach fits right into the mould. The serene setting of the golden beaches and crystal blue seas will win over one and all. It is already a favorite with the local "ex-pat" community, especially due to the large number of highly rated restaurants in the area and the non-existent traffic problems.  Tourists normally associate Bali with a journey of a lifetime, the chance to absorb the local customs and traditions and above all it's these principles.  Jakarta hosted a women’s international stop in 1996 where Brazilians Shelda Bede/Adriana Behar defeated Maike Friedrichsen/Danja Musch for the title.  Timy Yudhani Rahayu has posted Indonesia's best finishes on her home sand with ninths with Eta Kaize (1995) and Siti Nurjanah (2003), respectively.


Year – Bali Gold Medal / Bali Silver Medal / Bali Bronze Medal

1995 - Nancy Reno/Holly McPeak, USA / Sandra Pires/Jackie Silva, Brazil / Karolyn Kirby, USA

2003 - Jia Tian/Fei Wang, China / Tamara Larrea Peraza/Dalixia Fernandez Grasset, Cuba / Eva Celbova/Sona Novakova, Czech Republic