Volleyball Nations League Men's World Championship Women's World Championship World Cup Volleyball Challenger Cup Men's Club World Championship Women's Club World Championship Women's Grand Champions Cup Men's Grand Champions Cup Men's U23 World Championship Women's U23 World Championship Men's U21 World Championship Women's U20 World Championship Boys' U19 World Championship Girls' U18 World Championship Archives
2020 Olympic Qualification System 2020 Qualification Tables
Senior - Men Senior - Women U23 - Men U23 - Women U21 - Men U20 - Women U19 - Boys U18 - Girls
Volleyball HistoryFIVB official Rules of the GameBasic Volleyball RulesPicture of the Game reportGlossary
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

VNL winners to face world champions in 2019

The USA will play world champions Serbia during the preliminary stages of the 2019 Volleyball Nations League
Lausanne, Switzerland, October 23, 2018 – The inaugural FIVB Volleyball Nations League winners – USA in the women’s competition and Russia in the men’s – will face the newly crowned FIVB Volleyball Women’s and Men’s World Championship gold medallists when the annual tournament returns for its second edition in 2019. With pool and host allocations now confirmed, 16 teams per gender have seven months to prepare for next year’s VNL.

In the women’s VNL, USA will face new world champions Serbia in Italy in week 2 from May 28-30, where hosts Italy and the Dominican Republic complete the quartet of teams. In the men’s competition, Russia take on recently crowned men's world champions Poland in Iran in week 3 Pool 11 which takes place over June 14-16, and also features hosts Iran and Canada.

The Volleyball Nations League is the highest profile annual volleyball tournament for national teams and begins with a preliminary round of five weeks of high-tempo volleyball across the world.

The first round of matches in the women’s tournament takes place from May 21-23 when the USA travel to Bulgaria to take on the hosts, Japan and Belgium. The men’s first week takes place from May 31-June 2.

The preliminary rounds will be followed by the women’s finals to be played in China from July 3 to 7. The men’s finals will take place in the United States from July 10 to 14.

In 2018 Karch Kiraly’s USA team defeated Turkey 3-2 (17-25, 25-22, 26-28, 25-15, 15-7) in Nanjing, China to claim the women’s gold, while Russia under the guidance of Sergei Shliapnikov beat finals host nation France 3-0 (25-22, 25-20, 25-23) in Lille.

Both finals are repeated in the preliminary round in 2019. Russia take on France in the opening weekend in Serbia, where they will also take on the pool hosts and Japan. In the women’s competition, USA and Turkey renew their rivalry in week four when they also play host team China, and Poland.

Quick links - Volleyball:
FIVB Volleyball Nations League 2018
FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championship Italy-Bulgaria 2018
Latest Videos

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news