Volleyball Nations League Men's World Championship Women's World Championship World Cup Men's Club World Championship Women's Club World Championship Women's Grand Champions Cup Men's Grand Champions Cup Men's U23 World Championship Women's U23 World Championship Men's U21 World Championship Women's U20 World Championship Boys' U19 World Championship Girls' U18 World Championship Olympic Qualification Tournaments Archives
Men Women Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Men's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Puerto Rico) Men's World Olympic Qualfication Tournament (Mexico)
Senior - Men Senior - Women U23 - Men U23 - Women U21 - Men U20 - Women U19 - Boys U18 - Girls
Volleyball HistoryFIVB official Rules of the GameBasic Volleyball RulesPicture of the Game reportGlossary
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Kenya name final World Grand Prix team

Kenya name final squad for FIVB World Grand Prix

Nairobi, Kenya, July 14, 2014 - Kenya National volleyball women’s team coach David Lung’aho has named his final squad of 12 for the 2014 FIVB World Grand Prix.

Lung’aho, who is eager to achieve his first victory outside Africa, has evidently gone for experience while naming his squad for the lengthy Grand Prix Championship.

Kenya Prisons middle blocker and rising star Edith Mukuvilani Wisa is the only player in the squad who has not played for the national senior team before. But Wisa is not short of international experience as she has previously played in the 2013 FIVB Women's Club World Championships in Switzerland and under-23 World Championships in Mexico.

Left attacker Noel Murambi of Kenya Pipeline and right attacker Lydia Maiyo of Kenya Prisons are back in the team. Both Murambi and Maiyo have played for the national team in previous competitions but missed one of the two 2014 FIVB Women's World Championships African Qualifiers played in Nairobi last April.

The other players, led by experienced captain Bracksides Agala, are regular members of the team. The team is scheduled to depart on July 21 for Mexico where they play first round matches before shifting to Croatia.

Players left out of the team of 16 are towering Gaudencia Makokha, Triza Atuka, Joy Lusanaka and Agripina Kundu. The four formed part of the national team which played in the last Under-23 FIVB World Championships.

Lung’aho said: "The four players we’ve left out are still members of the team and they will be given opportunity to represent the country in the very near future."

The final squad:
Janet Wanja, Jane Wacu (setters), Lydia Maiyo, Esther Wangeci (right attackers); Mercy Moim, Everlyne Makuto, Monica Biama, Noel Murambi (left attackers), Brackcides Agala, Ruth Jepngetich, Edith Mukuvilani Wisa (centres), Elizabeth Nafula (libero).

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news