Volleyball Nations League Men's World Championship Women's World Championship World Cup Men's Club World Championship Women's Club World Championship Women's Grand Champions Cup Men's Grand Champions Cup Men's U23 World Championship Women's U23 World Championship Men's U21 World Championship Women's U20 World Championship Boys' U19 World Championship Girls' U18 World Championship Olympic Qualification Tournaments
Men Women Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Men's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Puerto Rico) Men's World Olympic Qualfication Tournament (Mexico)
Senior - Men Senior - Women U23 - Men U23 - Women U21 - Men U20 - Women U19 - Boys U18 - Girls
Volleyball HistoryFIVB official Rules of the GameBasic Volleyball RulesPicture of the Game reportGlossary
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

2014 FIVB World League calendar updates


Lausanne, Switzerland, March 24, 2014 – The FIVB has announced the following updates to the FIVB Volleyball World League calendar for Group 2.

Match 7 (May 31) and match 16 (June 1) between France and Japan will take place in Montpellier (timings to be determined) at the Park and Suites Arena.

- Match 21 (June 7) and Match 24 (June 8) between Germany and France will take place at the Porsche Arena in Stuttgart. Match 21 will take place from 18:00 to 20:00 (GMT) and match 24 from 14:30 to 16:30 (GMT)

The 25th edition of the FIVB World League sees the competition increase from 18 to 28 teams split into seven pools of four teams each.

It is the first time the FIVB’s premiere event will feature such a large number of teams having had 16 teams from 2001-2003 and 2006-2012. The World League featured eight teams in its inaugural year in 1990, 10 in 1991, 12 from 1992-2000 and 2004-05 and then 18 in the 2013 edition.

This year, Pool A features two of the most successful countries in the 24-year history of the World League with world No. 1 and nine-time champions Brazil along with eight time winners Italy, 2012 champions Poland and the rapidly improving Iran.

In Pool B are defending champions Russia, 2012 silver medallists USA, fourth-placed team at last year’s World League, Bulgaria and four-time runners-up Serbia.

Pool C features first time participants Belgium along with Canada, Australia and Finland while Argentina, Germany, France and Japan are in Pool D. Pool E features the Netherlands, Korea, the Czech Republic - who return to the World League after making their only previous appearance in 2003 - and Portugal.

On the women's competition front, Ankara, Turkey was confirmed as the host of pool A for the FIVB World Grand Prix for matches taking place from August 1 to 3.

Click here for the World League calendar. 

Click here for more information on the FIVB Volleyball World League


Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news